What's up with @MEANMOMMY33???

in #life6 years ago

I am back!

Just not sure for how long.........

So, some updates for my favorite people here! I know I haven't been present lately, but I am always active at the @steemsugars Discord https://discord.gg/D2V8nq9 I still try to follow up as much as I can, but here are some changes that are taking up all my time lately...!

Final Exam in Danish language

And YES ladies and gentlemen I PASSED!

I finished with my Danish education and I am officially considered a fluent speaker in Danish! And even though I already live in Denmark for 4 years, it was quite difficult for me because with @creutzy and all of our friends -including Danes- we speak mostly in English, I was always working in English or Italian/French and the languages I do speak fluently [Greek, English, Italian, French, Romanian] had nothing to do!!! So I feel like it's a big achievement !!!

But, the prospect of the exam [the 15th of May the written part and yesterday the oral part] kept me busy studying in order to pass - and actually with quite a good grade!

Apartment Search

Those who don't live in Copenhagen cannot understand the pain. Looking for an apartment here is a complete nightmare, especially now when there's the exchange of all the students. Since 2014 that I moved to Denmark, more and more students are coming every year to study their Master's - If the weather is that bad [even though personally I don't mind], why, you would wonder. Well, because it's in English AND free.

About 5 months ago I made a post about my new apartment and how excited I was. Guess what: The owner didn't have the right to rent it.

I am not going to get into complicated Danish laws, but that's the deal. So eventually I would have to move - I thought it was better to give her the 2month notice. The sooner the better. So the hunting started again - in the middle of exams and job interviews [and meetings with my Job Center, which provided my unemployment benefit]. What a hassle... And then, something is always wrong, owners don't pick you easily, you don't get the one you want, or it's too expensive, or too far, and most of the times for 2 years TOPS - if you're lucky. Oh, and of course I wouldn't live with roommates at 34 after 11 years that I live alone. Only with @creutzy - if even. But the boyfriend doesn't really count as a 'roommate' anyway.

Well guess what:

I found the perfect apartment, they picked me, it is not THAT expensive, it is very central but at a new neighborhood to explore, very close to my boyfriend and close friend from Italy, AND UNLIMITED contract!!!!! This almost NEVER happens !!!!!! And all that right at the moment when I was stressing about my new job......oh yeah, I'm getting to that now:

New Job at the United Nations

A little background here:

Since I was a kid, as an organized Taurus, I wanted a stable 9-17 job, interesting, with nice colleagues and workplace. Simple stuff.

My Mom was a translator and interpreter when I was growing up and my Dad was a photographer. So eventually I became BOTH. Even though, deep down I felt like none are 100% my Dream Job. My Dad used to say that I should be a diplomat. Well, I needed Law School for that and I only managed to get those degrees:

  1. Bachelor's in Social Theology - University of Athens
  2. Bachelor's in Sociology minor History - University of Paris X
  3. Master's in Economics and Social Issues - University of Paris X
  4. Master of Arts [Theology - Interscandinavian Religion Programme] - University of Copenhagen

And mastered 6 languages - as mentioned before.
And done countless workshops and seminars in all possible fields - I even start to learn code at some point [Python, if anyone is wondering...]
AND worked wherever you can imagine, even FOR FREE sometimes.

Until one day... Fate gave me a smile and...

I got my Dream Job as a Secretary for WHO [World Health Organization - but cool abbreviation huh???], at the Division of Policy and Governance, at the United Nations Europe.


My office and....the view from it!

I will make a separate post about my new workplace and colleagues and the story of the UN and WHO. For now, I am proudly announcing this, which kind of explains why I am not that active on Steemit anymore [By the way I got to the most regulated environment you can imagine haha!]

This is especially dedicated to some unexpected, negative reactions about my new job...

And on top of all that I still have @creutzy of course, family -on the phone- and friends. Plus I wanna start the gym and BLA BLA BLA !!!

I hope you can all understand that Steemit is not a priority for me at the moment, but this doesn't mean that I'm quitting in ANY case !!!

I will soon write more about future plans! For now, wish me luck and hugs to all !!!

Barney Stinson [from How I met your Mother] just said it all ahahahaha!!!! xD

Thank you everyone for reading, I hope you enjoyed my updates and small slideshow! And as I always say, don't forget to smile!

Yours

MeanMommy

follow_meanmommy33.gif

SS-pansies-EN.jpg(https://discord.gg/D2V8nq9)
Banner by: @thekittygirl


Gif by: @traciyork

Sort:  

Miss your face but SO stinkin' excited for all the awesomeness in your life!


via GIPHY

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHA !!!!
Thank you girl !!! I know you're honestly happy for me and that makes me happier!!!
We'll talk in private too ;)))

You're very welcome, and sounds like a plan! 💜 💜

This is fantastic! So exciting. Thanks for the update, and for always checking in at SteemSugars on discord. I'm happy for you that everything has worked out and wish you all the best success in your new job. Good to know you're not abandoning us. I look forward to hearing from you when you get chances to post. :)

I'm never going to abandon you !!! I just need to figure out how to deal with everything at the moment!
Today I was 10 hours at work :D [and I'm on my PC now, on some work websites again hahahaha] Yep, I LOVE IT!!! :D Thank you :))))

You have certainly been busy lately! Congratulations on the new job, and I am happy to hear that things are working in your favor with regards to the apartment and the certification in Danish language! That is great news! 🙂

Thank you deary !!!
I'm finally happy too, it took a long of time, money, efforts, failures, as well as stress, depression and sadness to get to this ! So now I'm like YEAAAAAAAH !!!

Such a full Post congrats on Passing the exam and the New Apartment, sounds like you really lucked out with the apartment in many ways

And also congratulations on your Job with WHO, I have met a few working with WHO over the years, I started with the UN myself almost 29 years ago :)

I am FINALLY lucky with everything after MANY years of patience !!!! Thank you my friend !!!!
AHA! Really????? So...hey colleague, 'zup? :D :D :D

Ohh yeah we are indeed Colleagues now :) a young one and an old one LOL

Nice great work an welcome back! Seems like all is going just peachy for you great to see. Not a bad view from the office I have to say; seen much worse haha. Keep on smiling indeed 💯🐒

After many many years, it is indeed yes !!! Thank you !!! :D

Indeed it takes time I only after a year nearly we out on me tod tonight in my local town met one or two people. Im getting there 💯🐒

Not bad for the "just getting awesome" part Loop! Champagne!!

Stop commenting from other accounts thinking you can fool me Lola :P ahahaha!!!
THANK YOU !!!!!!! :D It feels amazing - fiiiinally !!!! :D

Congrats landing your dream job!! ❤️☺️

Thank you @mountainjewel !!! A life milestone !!! :D

We knew this stage was coming :) Soooo happy for you! You really are so inspiring to me how you've been so on it with @steemsugars discord, even while so much was going on. Love you Penny D :)

Hehe thank you my dearest, I appreciate your contant support and trust! It surprises me that you actually think this stage was coming indeed.... remember where I was when you came here...and where now...in less than 2 months !!! :D
But then again, I have a rock friend right here, giving me the will to go on!!! LOVE YOU TOO!!! :*

Of course this stage was coming, it's just the law of nature, awesome people like you will have crazy challenges but also crazy rewards ;)

And thank you for your very sweet but very cheeky transfer, I'm still deciding whether or not to start a transfer war with you or do something good with it in your honour <3

Woo! How wonderful that you found the job of your dreams. Congratulations! I am amazed that you speak so many languages, just need to learn Spanish hehe! I wish you every success. Hugs!

Thank you !!! :D
Actually I'm not a crazy fan of the Spanish language (because it kinda sounds like my own - Greek - sometimes haha), but I do speak it if I have to - considering the other latin ones I do speak ;))) When in Spain for example, for sure :) And it's also an official UN language so maybe I should!

Congratulations on your dream job!
And that green shirt is 💚

Thank you girl !!!
Haha, it's a dress - from my birthday, I just kept the pic on every post since then 'cause I love it too! :D

You look gorgeous in that colour, complements your hair, I have a weakness for green, and congrats on the new job. Sounds you have been busy accomplishing things. Hugs. Best wishes. 💚💚💚💚

As it seems (I didn't know!) me too !!! :D
Thank you thank you thank uuuuuu <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54