'Beating Laziness and Building Self Discipline'

in #life7 years ago

About my20329271933_d354c625d2_z.jpgMethod A couple of weeks ago I told you about a method I use to avoid laziness and build my self discipline (it can also be used to break bad habits)Well, after experimenting with it for a while Ive had a few thoughts to share with you, to help you make the best use of it (If you have no idea what this is about click the link above to read (and listen) to that post.)1. You really need to say it. Maybe not out loud (although its probably better), but you do need to build a clear and complete sentence. A vague thought that runs quietly in the back of your head wont do the trick.2. It works best when you have a plan either a to-do list (in the case of laziness and procrastination) or an alternative action (in the case of bad habits). Lets say that youre trying to avoid drinking alcohol in the afternoon. You should have an alternative action in stock, ready for the time youd feel like drinking so you could say something like: I now choose to drink beer, instead of orange juice, because(In this case, like in many others, your alternative should be ready not only in your mind, but also in the fridge ;-))3. You need to make a real decision, and be as detailed and specific as possible:The wrong wayI decide to keep laying around instead of doing something else because I feel like it.The right way I now decide to lay down for another 30 minutes, instead of cleaning up the house, because I feel that I really need the rest, and nothing would happen if I start cleaning up half an hour from now.Still on this point, I feel like it is not a good reason. If you get stuck on a movie, you could say because this looks like a good movie and I think Im going to enjoy it.When you have a complete thought like that, it forces you make a real decision. It makes you use real judgment, instead of acting uncontrollably or irrationally.(In the movie example, you might find out, like I have many times, that not only youve already seen the movie, its not even a good one!)There you have it. As I said before, dont underestimate the power of this method.I could go on and on trying to explain how and why it works in terms of psychology, but to be honest well, I decide to be lazy this time :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59705.02
ETH 2619.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39