What standard do you accept?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

It’s inspirational quote time!


I used to work for a guy in the mining industry who was about as rough around the edges as you’d get.

He’d seen and done it all. And had survived to tell his many tales.

This chap had worked in the industry at a time where rocking up to work after a massive night on the beer and no sleep at all was a perfectly normal thing to do.

He had this massive scar running down the side of his face that he got after rolling a car into a ditch while drunk on site.

But after surviving such stupidity this chap started to value his life and started making sure his work mates valued theirs as well.

And while I didn’t really like his management style, he did have a quote that he’d say almost daily that really did resonate with me.

The standard you walk past is the standard you accept.


My manager used this quote in the sense that if you walked past an unsafe situation, then you were accepting that the unsafe situation should exist. And you are OK with the fact that a person may be injured while at work.

For me though, this quote can very readily applied to your every day life. For example, I take my pup to the beach on most days where I have a spare hour or two.

And I find that this quote sings through my mind whenever I walk along the shore. Every time that I see a piece of plastic on the beach, I hear the quote ring through my mind and simply have to pick up that piece of plastic and find the nearest bin.

My hour long walks on the beach and quite literally turned into a ball throwing, rubbish picking routine.

One fine piece collected while out walking today.

I am quite simply not willing to accept that my beach will be one that is covered in plastic wrappers and bottles. That is not the standard that I am willing to accept.


Can this quote apply to your time on Steemit?


You bet your left cheek it can.

Do you see someone gaining rewards from plagiarised content? If you move on without flagging that content then you must be fine with the author being rewarded for stealing that content.

Are you someone that disagrees with voting bots existing on the platform? Add your flags to the posts where excessive votes have been purchased then.

And do you see someone calling out for help on the platform and struggling to get that help? Not helping them would be accepting that the standard on Steemit is to ignore new users. So maybe we shouldn’t accept that as being OK.

So this quote can be applied to virtually any aspect of your life. It’s rare for a quote to have a profound impact on my life but this one certainly has. And I suppose that I hope it can have an impact in your life as well.


Sort:  

I want to upvote this multiple times.

I love the quote and values behind it!

It is a goodie. :)

This quote is especially pertinent in today's society where we are seeing an alarming trend of violence toward women.

There's another quote that applies to putting an end to violence in general:

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mazzle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Alan Watts once said: "When you think it really doesn't matter that the whole world is going to blew itself up, then the chance is there that it might not happen."

I, as you, would pick up the bottle, to fulfill my standard, no matter the standard of other people.

One should never underestimate the role modeling of oneself. You are watched by people all the time. ;-)

You formulated a very good principle. here.

It's so nice to hear from you Erica. :)

I'm glad to see you're still posting.

There is also an excellent quote/ saying; "lead by example". Which is very applicable here as well. One of my old mentors always told me that one.

Hi @mazzle!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.259 which ranks you at #2690 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 8 places in the last three days (old rank 2682).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 212 contributions, your post is ranked at #80.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I think I have pretty low standards then. Though if I tried to pick up every piece of trash I encounter on my wanderings I would need to drag one of those huge bin bags around with me while I'm walking dogs x_x

I'll quite happily flag things I consider plagiarism though.

Bidbots I'm less sure about, as while I hate the damn things I figure other people can do whatever they feel they need to do to grab as much money as they possibly can for themselves. I just tend to not upvote posts if I see bidbot comments/votes and if the person uses them heavily I unfollow (have done this to a few people already).

Posted using Steeve

My beach walks started out with me carrying arm loads of rubbish to bins. If it's really bad, sometimes the best I can do is just make sure I pick up some bits. I could never walk away while leaving the beach looking like shit though.

I'm not sure about bid bots as well. I used to be solidly against them. But now I don't care so much. If people want to waste their steem trying to get a tiny profit then let them go at it. It's not like they're getting quality engagement on their pumped up posts anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82