There’s an intruder in my garden!

in #life6 years ago

About 7 intruders in fact


And they’re all dead now. I’ve been away for 2 weeks so my veggie garden has grown a lot. The only problem with being away is that I haven’t been able to keep an eye on invasions.

So this morning, even before my coffee, I spent an hour weeding the veggie patch and removing unwanted visitors.

These green chaps were all over my broccoli. And had to die. The buggers had eaten so much of the leaves.

So now my veggies are weed and pest free. Grow my pretties!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

sounds like you need a chicken or two. :) Mostly kidding they will eat the bugs, but also the veggies. 2 legged goats.

I’d love to have some chooks. :)

Fresh eggs are amazing. I grew up with chooks and fresh veggies. We even had a cow to milk next door.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don't have any now, but I have and they are great. :)

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Definitely get some chookens 😆 though you will have to mind the veges 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Fencing the veggies might be a good idea. :)

Make the fence go a little bit below the ground otherwise they can sometimes find a way under XD

I concur. Chickens are fun. Ours have free rein in the back yard which is not as pleasant as I'd hoped. They live by the back door, pecking holes in the fly screen and dropping nuggets on the footpath. Guess I'll have to bite the bullet and build them a habitat.

Build them a fenced area. Do you get foxes out your way? I used to wait outdoors late at night with a .22 cal rifle waiting for foxes to come by my chicken coop.

No foxes or any other type of predator as far as I can tell. The neighbour's dog dug under the fence and killed one a few months back; but she's sealed it off really well, so I don't think he'll be back.
We just need them to stay out amongst the weeds, ripping them up, instead of sitting on Evelyn's windowsill bashing at the window.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mazzle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hey, @mazzle.

re: my pretties!

Insight into how my brain works. I was all ready to tell you that you're sounding like Gollum (Lord of the Rings) when in mid-thought I realize that's, My precious! not My pretties! Which again in mid-thought, I remember is closer to what the Wicked Witch of the West might have said in The Wizard of Oz. :)

Since it's not even 6:30 am in the morning here, on a Saturday, I think that's enough mental gymnastics for now. :)

Way to stop the invasion. Hopefully their kin don't show up seeking revenge. :)

Their kin showed up this morning. I discovered a whole bunch of fresh attackers. The war is far from over it seems. I'll prevail though. :)

I think you need some kind of battle cry. Not sure what would be appropriate, though. The only ones that come to mind come from movies or comic books. How about It's clobberin' time! :)

“It’s squishing time” perhaps?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @mazzle!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.229 which ranks you at #2927 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 2929).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 182 contributions, your post is ranked at #28.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84