The chillies have arrived :)

in #life6 years ago

It seems insane but, after just 2 weeks in the ground, I already have chillies on my plants.

I suppose this is a good example of just how perfect the growing conditions have been these past couple of weeks. And possibly the fact that I’ve kept the water and soil conditioner on these plants for all of this time as well.

Now to play the waiting game while the chillies ripen enough. I’ll be drying some for use throughout the year. And also making a couple of vindaloos. :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Amanda's been doing chilli con carne for my no-carb diet. I eat it using celery as a spoon. So good.

Lol. No hot dog for you on the 3rd March then? And no carbs... that sounds tough.

Posted using Partiko iOS

My husband is doing keto diet for the last 2-3 months now.

He likes making celery salad (with cucumber, onion, garlic, vinegar, salt, chopped bird eye chilies, water and sweetener) 😁

I could see that working. @minismallholding has been generous with the garlic, so we're already well on the way :)

Shaun would say "leave out the celery!" He eats most things, but that he can't stand. 😆

Posted using Partiko Android

My brother in law is the same. Claims he can smell it as soon as he opens our fridge.
Does celery even have a smell?

Does celery even have a smell?

Yes, a lovely one! 😆
Shaun can smell it at 100 metres I think.

Posted using Partiko Android

Superb 👍👍👍👍

What kind of chilies are these? Bird eye?

One is Habanero and the other is Jalapeño. :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yuum!!

Our kind of spiciness 👍

We just made chili sauce 2 days ago, of habanero with garlic, onion, salt, and vinegar, processed in an electric blender 👍👍👍👍

Better than those Frank's Red or Tabasco etc

Yum!

Hmm homemade chilli sauce sounds amazing. Might have to give it a shot.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Some chillies just grow fast too I think XD My partner put one in the aquaponics and it immediately expanded and chillies magically appeared like in a timelapse or a stupid cartoon.

Okay it actually took a week or so but still, we had many, many more chillies than we could possibly use and it was a bit of a struggle giving them away too XD

Enjoy your chillies and vindaloos and everything else :D

I’m more than ok with getting too many chillies. It’s a rare day that I don’t have a spicy meal. :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Greetings dear @mazzle

These fruits look like those that grow here in Venezuela, but those here are not spicy. Then we say "Ají Dulce" (sweet chili).

But we do have some that are anatomically different from those and we call them "Chireros" o "Chirel". These are Hot spicy! Wow yes they are.

How are the weather conditions in your region? I see that you were very good at your fruits. I congratulate you.

Chirel Picante (Hot spicy)


Source

"Ají Dulce" (sweet chili)


Source

I know the Aji Dulce. We call that one an ornamental chilli. It isn’t spicy at all.

I’ve planted a habanero and a jalapeño. Both of which are spicy.

The weather is hot and dry over here. It means I have to water the chilli plants almost daily. But you can see the results here. They produce some decent volumes of chilli.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Apparently the climate is very similar to that of my region. Therefore you must water those plants daily. They are very delicate in terms of irrigation, they weaken very easily.

I have friends with small plantations of Aji Dulce. Approx 50 square meters. From there you can get several hundred kilos.

Hugs friend !.

Wow! They must sell them surely? After reading that I want to plant more chilli... I think I’ll get some more plants this weekend. :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh yes, he sells them in the vegetable markets.
This provides you with an extra inflow of money. He is a very humble man and a field worker.

Those plants are quite fruitful.

Does chillies normally grow that fast?

Posted using Partiko Android

Apparently. :P

I had no idea though since this is only the second time I’ve grown them.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh OK. Hope you enjoy them.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is a great story of garden success! Beautiful plants. What kind of chilies are they? Padrones? I think I see a tomato back there too. I am upping my chili pepper game in the garden this year.. We didn't get enough last year! You are inspiring me :)

Hi! Forgive me if I'm being intrusive, but @homesteaderscoop is on the list to possibly win 20k delegation for a year from @theycallmedan. We’re humbled and blown away, and super excited as we win 1K just for getting on the list! This flows down to everyone who supports us in the form of upvotes, challenges, and enthusiasm to keep what we do going. We support homesteading, gardening, spirituality, and other alternative ways of living driven by a love of sustainability, ethics and the environment. And of course we offer a free market to buy and sell sustainable goods and ethical services for STEEM and SBD! Your vote matters – it really does – and by voting for Homesteaders Co-op, you’re saying you support sustainability, ethics, the environment, natural living and more. Go you – you are awesome! Here’s the link to the Dpoll: https://dpoll.xyz/detail/@theycallmedan/which-steem-project-should-i-delegate-20k-steempower-to-for-1-year/

p.s. If you vote, which I hope you do, I am also running a contest for 20 steem here which you are welcome to enter!

coop-logo-steem-medium.png

Hi @mazzle!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.209 which ranks you at #2957 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 22 places in the last three days (old rank 2979).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 399 contributions, your post is ranked at #60.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72