Why is it so hard to stick to your goals?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

pablo-garcia-saldana-94058.jpg

We all have goals. Regardless of who we are or what we do, we all want to get somewhere in life.
I found myself today sitting before a really nice lady on the front desk of the new gym on my hometown.
The gym had everything, new machines, great lighting, a really cool MMA octagon...

After the tour I got exited about joining this new gym and building all those extra pounds of muscle I want to pack (I'm kind of really skinny, btw).

So I am taking to this lady when I though to myself:
I've been here before.

This is probably the 5th gym I've ever enrolled. This is probably the 5th gym I'm soon going to quit.
Every time I join the gym, I really commit to it.. for a couple of months though. Then something comes along... a new project, a fun trip, a new lover... and everything just crumbles. It's called the shiny syndrome object.

Whenever we have something in our lives, our minds are constantly in the lookout for something better.

Whenever we have a goal in mind, is easy to get distracted from it when something new comes along.

I think the real reason this happens is that when something new comes along, I lose sight of my old goal.
The only way you're going to get what you want from life is if you stick to it.

I know, we've heard this a 1000 times. But still, we don't seem to really grasp the importance of discipline when it comes to goals.

Commitment and discipline is something that comes along in baby steps.

It's better to go to the gym once a week for a year than to hit the gym 4 times a week for 3 months.

When you take your goal and split it in many mini-goals, you are able to spread this mini-goals throughout longer periods of time. Achieving this mini-goals will give more stable sense of accomplishment and keep you motivated in the long run.

Milestones don't need to be big. They can be really tiny. But consistency is the fuel that will take you where you want to go, regardless if the milestones spread throughout your way are really big or quite small.

Set your goals and spread it out in many mini-goals. If you want to make a $1,000,000 with steemit, post once a day for a year and try to make $1 with each post every time you upload a story. You will see that at first you won't have the motivation you need to keep going, but eventually your brain will integrate your $1,000,000 goal into it's operating system, cause by repeating a specific action, you are programming your brain to achieve your goals in the long run.

The wiser choice for me at the moment is to pass on the gym enrollment. I need to give myself time to really think about the goal I want to set, come up with achievable mini-milestones and convince myself to stick to my goals in the long run, regardless of how many new things and feelings distract me from them.

Sort:  

thanks suriously you are doing a great job

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60314.14
ETH 2890.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35