You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Even after a life full of history, life is still a mystery.

in #life6 years ago

Funny, I used to have a tomboyish friend called Joanne too. (-:

But seriously, this is the best real-life story that I have read on Steemit as yet. Some of the Steemit "writers" who publish parts of a series and one-off short story posts could not have written better. It was almost like a movie playing before my eyes - you described everything perfectly and such a post can in no way be a work of fiction - it is just too REAL!!

Some of your friends reminded me of my own during my younger days. Social networks or not, friends just drift away and most change completely after facing the rigors of life. Unfortunately, the number of friends in your later years is decided by many factors least of them being the common memories of youth or childhood.

Your advice to Mozzy and the Christmas gesture are turning points in your story. While your advice changed Mozzy's life, with a gesture like that, there is proof right there that you have a golden heart. The world is desperately in need of people like you.

It is indeed good to hear that Mozzy got the good fate that he well deserved and you did have a big role to play in it. It's also nice of you to keep a track of all of your old friends - at the same time it is sad to hear of the loss of one of them.

I honestly don't know why I wanted to share this because I have never spoken of it to anyone before.
I guess Im getting older.

It is because you now have another set of friends on Steemit that is your audience!

But what I do is...if I had to do it all over again, I would.

Well said! These memories remain within us and go with us when we leave. But this story is now on the blockchain where it will remain forever, for eternity. Perhaps that is what subconsciously made you write your experience here?

Thanks for the great content! Upvoted and resteemed.

Sort:  

Hey man thanks for the wonderful response, your word really lifted me. Indeed the story is completely true. There was much more I could of tole of course but I just wrote what came to mind as I wrote it and then decided to add pictures after.
You are so right in what you said how we move on and lose track of our old friends and make new ones. Now that I am older I guess I look back more. I am often hard on my self in that I feel I could be a better person, do more to help others. When I see what doctors, nurses and firemen do everyday I sometimes feel guilty. But I do try to be, what my grandmother used to call, a good person. She used to say; "God loves a tryer" lol - I think that is all we can do and that is at least better than doing nothing. In the end I came to the conclusion that, if someone is in my circle, or crosses my path, and that person needs help, and I am in a position to help, then I should help. Not helping, or pretending it is not my concern, well I think my grandmother would call that being - not a good person.
How funny that you also knew a tom-by friend called Joanne : )
Thanks again @maxabit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63212.56
ETH 3233.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88