How Crypto Changed My Life - Official Entry

in #life6 years ago (edited)

image.png

Hi all!

Here is my official entry to How Has Crypto Created More Freedom In Your Life contest.

I first heard about bitcoin in 2010 but never gave it thought in owning any until middle of 2017. I started investing in cryptocurrencies around July/August of 2017 when I heard bitcoin had surpass $5,000. The dream of being financially set was my main motivation to investing my money and time into crypto. However as you soon will read my life turned upside down and right side up since getting involved in crypto.

Around July of 2017 I had read many stories about early bitcoin investors becoming millionaires. I got hooked to the allure of crypto making people financially set. Very soon I learned about steemit and as I got more involved on steemit and discord I had crypto in my mind almost every hour of the day. My main focuses were looking for passive incomes and learn ways to earn more crypto with less work. The goal was to collect as much big marketcap crypto as I could for retirement.

The overwhelming positive feelings I had in crypto preoccupied me more than anything after a few months. By early 2018 I was spending many hours online. There were at times I spend 20 hours in the day just on steemit. The time I spent was exacerbated with the enormous amount of money I put into crypto. I bought into the hype and invested a five figure sum into crypto. Money that my family needed and something I could not afford to lose.

My guilt of spending the money investing in crypto made me want to continue spending hours to earn back what I had invested. What I was earning definitely not enough to support the family. I got to the point my wife was yelling at me for spending too much time on the computer and not enough time taking care of my children.

She was right. Now looking back I know I am addicted to crypto. Never had I imagine getting involved in crypto would change the course of my professional career. My professional career will never be the same due to crypto. Whether for the better or worse will depend more on how I live my life from here on. I gave up my job and working on something related to retail.

Currently I am still on steemit and sparingly looking out at crypto news and activities. I also have been able to manage spending more time with my family and be productive at my new work. Why I invested in crypto now has a different meaning. I invest in what I believe will change my life and the people around me for the better. Not only have my sight on being financially set but to invest in what I believe will make the world a better place.

I have meet and learned so much about all people from different walk of life through steemit. I enjoy commenting on other people's post the most. I look forward to what the future holds for steemit and cryptocurrency as a whole. Personally believe cryptocurrency is the future.

So I opened a can of worms by publicly posting my personal story, but hopefully this can be a lesson for others. The moral of the story is do not be fooled by the real worth of cryptocurrency. What I mean by that is do not think investing in cryptocurrency will mean life is easy street. Putting in the effort and time into studying and learning crypto to earn an income will just be as difficult if not easier than working a 8 to 5 job. Do not think you lose your freedom if you spend most of the day doing work that may not be self fulfilling. Sometimes you do what you got to do in order to survive another day. For me most of my time is allocated to work and caring for family. Yet I still squeeze in as much time as I can into crypto. I may not be free to do what ever I want but I choose to be responsible for the people I care about and be happy by still giving time for myself.

Thanks for reading.

If you wish to watch me try to grow my crypto wealth please follow me: @mawit07

image.png

Date of post:8/4/2018

Sort:  

It is hard putting something that personal out there for everyone to scrutinize. We can look at this from two view points, the positive and the negative. The negative shows us all the harm that this has caused. But I choose the positive side. Without it, you might not be where you are right now. You might not be the father and husband that this crisis has made you. It is a positive I think, an expensive one, but a positive all the same. You are a better man for it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62984.33
ETH 2453.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67