Be Thankful for What I Have

in #life6 years ago

Today I helped my parents doing small chores around their house. Help them move some furniture and fix a couple of door hinges. I regret not doing this sooner with them. Always made excuse that work was more important than being around them. If I can continue this path of life I would not hesitate in doing so.

The life of spending more time with my parents than not. My parents know I the bread winner in the family so they always try to avoid asking me for help. Yet work is just work. It will always be here whether I do it or someone else will do it. Spending time helping my family or even just sitting together and having a conversation together is limited.

I have taken for granted what matters to me the most. The reason of not spending enough time is simply work is a poor excuse. The reason I wake up in the morning. The reason I do what I do. For what? I can lose everything, but not my family. They mean the world to me.

Foolish me for not having the time to reflect and realize all this before I made my mistakes. Yet past is the past and now I must move forward. The humiliation, lost of time, lost of money, and lost of dignity is trump by the presence of my family. I will use this to my advantage and once again put forward a right foot.

They could have ran away from me and left me to dry. They are the ones who are willing to accept me for who I am for better or worse. Most of the time it really is the worse :p Then my day with parents progressed in a way any loving family would spend their day. My parents and siblings went to my home.

We enjoyed the Bruins game and then the Celtics. (By the way congrats to both Bruins and Celtics on the wins. Boston sports fans are definitely happy tonight!) Together as a family on a lovely Saturday. The kids were all excited just because there were so many people around the house. Seeing my kids enjoy time with their grandparents, uncles, and aunts gives me the satisfaction of life offerings. No value can be given to the opportunity to the people I care about the most be happy being around each other. Simply priceless.

These days are the days that makes life meaningful. I am glad I am where I am even though it is not the best of circumstances. I hope I can have more days such as today because life is too short not to do so.

Sort:  

You talked about your parents and that hit home with me. I live a ways away from them and they are getting older. I am saddled with the prospect of having to provide for my family and missing out on the short time I have left with my parents. I never realize how much I miss them until they are standing in front of me and this grown man turns in to mush.

You put it pretty well. I basically want to do what I can for my parents too because I am thankful for what they have done for me. Time with them now is very precious to me. Thanks.

@mawit07 you have found out and understood something many never get to understand. How to set priorities between work and family. Enjoy the knowledge as you grow in it. Please stop beating up yourself for not doing it sooner. It's better later than never. Life is all about constant improvement, growing and learning. Well done

Appreciate the support. Agree life is too short to stay negative about my circumstances. Just have to work through them and learn from them. Thanks.

Great post
A day out with parents always tend to be awesome

Family and friends first ;)

Everyone dreams of a happy family. But it depends on us, on how much we are willing to invest in it. After all, it is a personal relationship between people of different generations, views and beliefs that are forced to constantly solve everyday problems together. Of course, there are conflicts and disputes. But I think the most important thing is to respect each other. The main mistake people make in relationships, in my opinion, is that they begin to take each other for granted. They are no longer afraid to offend, to hurt.

As society advances and things around us change the very basic human relationships remains the same. I am happy to appreciate what my parents have given me and now I must repeat the same for my children.

Hello dear, it's a good thing you created time to relate with your family; They're your number one priority and the only people who would stand in for you till the very end in bad days. I know work is important, but never allow that to cut short your relationship with people who matters the most. I'm glad you spent some time with them and I hope you'd create some time to keep doing that in the future.
@joyart.... much love

Its apart of life to juggling time with family and work. I allowed my priorities gets distorted almost on a daily basis because I accepted the same routine. I am grateful to come to terms to what I really want in life rather than searching. So now I can focus all my energy into doing what I want most. Which is spending quality time with family and friends. Thanks.

You're welcome

That's an excellent reminder! At 39, I'm so blessed to have all my grandparents living, and I really need to spend all the time with them that Ican, but I allow life to get in the way. After reading this, I think I'll give them all a call tomorrow and plan some time to spend with them. Thank youd

Good for you to spend the time with family. I like how you phrased it, "allow life to get in the way".
It is so true that I allow myself to neglect the things so important to me for sake of meeting ends meet. Now that I got time to reflect on it I hope to get out of the mindset of money is more important than family and make sure I spend quality with my family. Thanks.

I will upvote and resteem your last blog post to my 36,000+ followers free. Read my last blog post. a-0-0

This post, with over $50.00 in bidbot payouts, has received votes from the following:

minnowbooster payout in the amount of $77 STU, $162 USD.

For a total calculated bidbot upvote value of $77 STU, $162 USD before curation, with approx. $19 USD curation being earned by the bidbots.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform @mawit07 and is by no means a judgement of your work.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97