Stripping yourself of your labels and titles

in #life7 years ago

Stripping yourself of your labels and titles

Had a great conversation with my friend, Daniel Cerventus, who is also one of my mentors when it comes to personal growth, curiosity, experimentations and community building. He is the curator of TEDxKL, one of the largest TEDxs in the world, and over the years have involved himself in many other community initiatives too.

One thing I respect most about him, is also his level of self-reflection and his love for deep, thought-provoking questions.

"I'm trying to introduce myself without the Curator of TEDxKL label."

Essentially, what he's saying is when he meets someone new, someone who doesn't know what he does for a living, he would like to not have the TEDxKL label to start the conversation.

"But isn't that a great conversation piece? I'm sure it sparks great conversation."

"Yes it does, but it's about me and what I've done. It doesn't allow me to have great conversations about the other party."

That's when it kinda hit me.

Over the years, I have used my labels to introduce myself too - co-founder of KICKSTART, host of Fuckupnights, marketing consultant - and because I think those activities seemed interesting (or the marketer in me just naturally sexify it without me realising), the other party immediate asked me to talk more about what I've done.

Imagine if the conversation had gone like this,

New friend: "Hi, I'm Mike."

Mav: "Hi Mike, I'm Mav. What do you do?"

Mike: "Oh, I'm a banker by day, community builder at night."

Mav: "Community building? Wow! Tell me more about it."

So now the conversation will be about Mike, and as long as I keep asking the questions and listening, I don't really have to mention about what I do.

You may ask, "But won't Mike be interested in you if he doesn't know anything about you?"

Well, he knows I'm a good listener (which I'm striving to be), and that I ask good questions. The interesting play on psychology? Mike may end the conversation feeling like he talked too much, didn't know much about me, and research about me.

Which I hope he found the better things about me on Google. :)

But that's besides the point.

Because the challenge is to strip myself off my labels. They can discover my labels later over my web presence, but in the conversation, I'm labelless. :)

Wanna try the labelless way of introducing yourself? Let me know in the comments how it goes.


Wait, why's Mav posting on Steemit nowadays?

Well, unlike other blogging and social media platform, Steemit is the only platform that allows me to earn cryptocurrency when I engage with it. Yup, one Steem is about USD1, and you, too, can earn Steem Dollars every time you:

  • Create content (articles, blog posts, podcasts, videos, photos)
  • Upvote (like) other people contents
  • Comment on other people's posts
  • Have discussions, share opinions etc!

Yup, basically it's the very same thing you're doing on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc all along!

The only difference? For once you can earn a nice income on the side!

Sign up for a free Steemit account, and you can thank me by coming back and upvoting this article. And guess what, you will earn Steem too for doing that! #awesome

follow_maverickfoo.gif

Sort:  

As T.S. Eliot says, "humility is endless" @maverickfoo and endlessly rewarding.

And, from the world of poetry, here's another short commentary you might enjoy:

I’m Nobody! Who are you?

I’m Nobody! Who are you?
Are you – Nobody – too?
Then there’s a pair of us!
Don’t tell! they’d advertise – you know!

How dreary – to be – Somebody!
How public – like a Frog –
To tell one’s name – the livelong June –
To an admiring Bog!

--Emily Dickinson, 1830 - 1886

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @maverickfoo to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Interesting post @maverickfoo. People love feeling needed; that's one of the best ways to keep them interested. It might not feel like it, but one benefits more by having others go on and on about themselves.

Great article. Interestingly challenging to introduce oneself without a label stigma. I guess to introduce oneself with the attributes you want to adopt in your life. For example "Hi, I am Raymund , I love to inspire people to experience breakthrough thinking"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81