How much did I lose in one of the worst days of the crypto world?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

If you’re holding some cryptocurrencies, you’d probably feel some pain today. My portfolio went down by over 25% in the last 24 hours. Probably the biggest dip since I started Steeming 3 months ago.

It’s no fun watching BTC, ETH, EOS, MUSIC, SBD, STEEM and NEM took a red plunge all at the same time. Chat channels went crazy, social media went on a frenzy, sceptics loaded that ever with their “told-you-so”!

But then I reminded myself that 3 months ago, I started with nothing but good stories in my shallow heart, keyboard at my finger tips, and curiosity in my open mind. I haven’t put in any fiat (analog money).

Sure, I’ve lost time, effort and probably some braincells trying to figure the blockchain.

Yeah, I’ve lost more time, more effort and even more braincells running the Steemitup.club community events with @bitrocker2020.

Quantifiable losses?

Maybe. Hard to put a number on that.

You know something else that’s hard to put a number on?

New friends, new community initiatives, new avenues to exercise my earning capabilities, new platforms to further mould my skills, new impetus to learn trending technologies, new perspectives.

Heck, just a few days ago, we raised over RM5,000 (USD1,250) for FOUR homes for the underprivileged! In less than 4 days, with just ONE post. All thanks to the 188+ upvotes we got, and the support of community leaders like @aaronleang, @zord189, @davidke20, @kazindailygrind, @joannewong, @alittlenewthings and @natalielo.

Even in my days of building the KICKSTART.MY and Fuckupnights KL community, there wasn’t an opportunity to build something that is so intrinsically and extrinsically rewarding. For once, there is a win-win-win-win-win opportunity for all.

Yeah, like I said, hard to put a number on that.

But all is not lost, for hardship moulds adversity, persistence shapes character, grit infuses positivity. Went the red dust settle, and I know it will, we will all walk out stronger, tougher, wiser.

So how much did I really lose? Insignificant.

Tough times don’t last, but tough people do.


Wait, why's Mav posting on Steemit nowadays?

Well, unlike other blogging and social media platform, Steemit is the only platform that allows me to earn cryptocurrency when I engage with it. Yup, one Steem is about USD1, and you, too, can earn Steem Dollars every time you:

  • Create content (articles, blog posts, podcasts, videos, photos)
  • Upvote (like) other people contents
  • Comment on other people's posts
  • Have discussions, share opinions etc!

Yup, basically it's the very same thing you're doing on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc all along!

The only difference? For once you can earn a nice income on the side!

Sign up for a free Steemit account, and you can thank me by coming back and upvoting this article. And guess what, you will earn Steem too for doing that! #awesome

follow_maverickfoo.gif

Sort:  

Absolutely! Just HODL and wait for the bounce - it will follow the previous patterns.

its quite simple that the pick of steem dollar if went high, be sure that it will be fall with in a week... in the past week steem dollar on high.

don't worry it will be OK first of January..

That's so true, man. A week ago I was just happy to be able to blog and make some decent money. But somewhere in between I got caught up at looking at the ups and downs of the currency.

We should just keep on keeping on :)

Your story is a proof on how crypto can make this world a better place

well written! :)

I've seen quite a number of dips like these and i'm sure it'll get back up again.

Well, it's either you wanna watch Discovery Channel or Wah Lai Toi. How much drama can we take? haha!

WAH LAI TOI HAHAHAHAHA @maverickfooyou subscribed to Astro On Demand kah

No idea. I couldn't locate the TV remote for the longest time, and up until last month, I thought it was cordless! (power cord wasn't installed)

Lol.. I haven't gone on Twitter, Facebook or any other social media in months.... I don't miss the drama

Yeah, I do realise I cut down my Facebook time by A LOT! probably there just to share my new Steemit posts and get more non-Steemians onboard. #keepcalmandsteemon

I haven't invested a single cent in crypto currency, therefore everything I earn here, be it $10, $100 or $5000 is all upside to me. Unless I cash it out, then its just a number on the screen, and I have no sentiment towards it. In the meanwhile, the best thing I can do with it to upvote others and help everyone grow together.

That's a brilliant attitude! Only when we all grow that we, too, can grow. A true model of servanthood leadership.

I understand how you feel. When my parents say I am poor. I look at my stack of Rm2 banknote to remind myself that I am not poor. I just can't spend now. We must not too focus on the down side as life got up and down.

The ability to master our spending will determine the success we enjoy in our lives.

Wow, I learned a new word from your brief intro. I didn't know there is a word for the study of currencies. So I guess you are a cryptonumismatic dealer?

Numismatic is more on the history of money.

Oops! Thanks for the clarification. :)

I love your attitude!

And I love your intro! The soul is probably the only thing that we can hold most dear. Let it go, and all is lost...

Thank you and so true!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60629.29
ETH 2636.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51