Travel Taiwan - The beautiful Sun Moon Lake

in #life7 years ago

The second half of last year I was able to spend in Taiwan, a beautiful rather unknown country. I didn't know much about the country and had never even been to Asia before, so it was a special experience. Taiwan is the friendliest country in the world and I can only approve that. Although communication can be rough from time to time, still people will always be kind to you. They always invited us to play basketball, eat with them and show us all the great sights. They even pay for all the food if they invite you.

During my stay my parents visited me for a couple of days and we got around a little, so I want to share with you guys one of the most beautiful lakes I have ever seen: The Sun Moon Lake.

It was my Birthday the night we stayed there, so I couldn't have asked for a better gift. Here are some of my favorite photographs I took with some information about the Sun Moon Lake.

Took this picture downstairs at the Hotel we stayed which is kind of constructed right above a cliff of the Lake, it is called "The Lalu". The Lake is the biggest one that Taiwan has to offer. You find it kind of right in the middle of the country and it is a three hour ride by car from the capital city. There is quite a number of temples around the lake that you can visit by driving, hiking or by boat.

The name of the "Sun Moon Lake" come from the shape of the lake. The east side is very round, so it looks more the sun and the west side of the lake resembles a typical moon shape. The name also intends to characterize the overall beauty of this area. It is a pretty big tourist attraction for Taiwanese as well as foreigners throughout the whole season, if you are planning on visiting book your trip far in advance!

This is one of the piers on the south-side of the lake. We took the boat to get there because we wanted to check out a park that you can reach via the Sun Moon Lake Rope-way. It is an approximately 10 minute ride with the rope-way that will lead you to a park that is mixed with amusement rides for children and structures that show how the aboriginal tribes once lived around that lake. 

If you are interested then visit some of the shows that they perform in the park. You can experience traditional dances, how their music sounds like and so much more.

I can only strongly recommend everyone that is going to Taiwan to visit this amazing area. It is great for relaxation, hiking, culture, history, food, paragliding, biking (almost every hotel offers plenty of bikes!!!) and so many other things that you should find yourself.

Let me know if you are planning on going to Taiwan or if you have already been there and what you like the most about this diverse country. 

Sort:  

Beautiful shots! Love the scenery!

Thank you so much!

Nice photos @matteroffact !! 👍
You are lucky to celebrate your b'day in such a lovely place with your parents and wish you a very very Happy Birthday !!! :)

Very true and thanks, although my birthday was already in November haha.

Stunning Pictures :) Keep up the good work :)

Really nice pictures and read. Taiwan looks lovely!

nice photos! I've only been in the taipei and northern area of taiwan and was only there for a few days, I def need to go back to drink more kavalan whiskies and check out this spot.

for sure, sounds good!

Lovely scenery. I won't be in Taiwan soon but I will be spending the next months living in mainland China. Looking forward to reading more from you :)

Your pictures are amazing! I really want to visit Taiwan

thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60132.86
ETH 3383.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51