Today I remembered my friend Simon.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I want to talk about a kid who was brave, strong and bright. A kid who I loved.

My friend Simon killed himself because of the abuse he experienced as a kid.

We were both kids around the same age, and we were both being hurt at home and at school. We hung out a lot although we never really talked about what was happening to us. We didn't have the words then, and we didn't know it wasn't normal. Here I am in the 'uniform' of one of the institutions that was abusing us. It was called King's House School in Richmond, London:

0145.jpg

In British society, being raped as a kid is pretty normal. Talking about it is not normal. If you talk about it, they come for you. The doctors; the teachers; the priests; the politicians. All the abusive men who are running the show. And everyone else who chose money and power instead of remembering what they do to kids in England.

They are scared too, you see, those who forgot: They're scared of remembering what happened to them. They prefer to just repeat the abuse. In so many ways.

And when say you remember, it feels to them like part of themselves is remembering. And that terrifies them. So they try and stamp on you. They try and push you away. Just as they push themselves away inside.

My session began today with meditation (40ug LSD) and an intention. My intention today was:

To face whatever needs to be processed today.

Then I started drawing my friend Simon.

Simon was being hurt too. He was hurt at our school and at home. Like me.

Then it got too much for him and he damaged his eye so badly that he died. He couldn't believe where he was; and what was happening to him. He didn't want to see it anymore. He didn't want to be alone. I knew that feeling too because it is how I felt as a kid. I felt like I had to kill part of myself just to carry on.

I think it really scared me when Simon killed himself. I was scared I would do it too if I couldn't forget. I had nightmares about it. Nightmares that I would remember what happened to me before society was ready to hear me. And that I would kill myself like Simon.

I think Simon couldn't split himself like the other kids at our school could. He tried to hang on to the parts of himself we let go. He tried to keep his kid-self attached to his adult-self. But British society doesn't let you do that. The powerful men can't allow that to happen or everyone would realise they are being ruled by trauma victims.

I knew, when Simon killed himself, that I had to let go of everything, to push it all down, to 'depress' it, until I was strong enough to face it. Simon showed me the unbearable pain of remembering. He showed me the importance of agreeing to be depressed in our society. It is one way to survive.

So I got 'depressed'. Like all the other grown-up kids.

But now I've stopped depressing myself. Now I remember myself. And I remember Simon.

The world didn't work for Simon in the end. It was too confusing. Because he didn't split himself like us. He didn't pretend that the monsters were our friends. He didn't pretend that the 'adults' knew what they were doing. He didn't pretend that the schools weren't horrors: designed to destroy children's natural instincts for collaboration and to breed competition and fear.

He saw that society was organised so that the traumatised men could soothe their fears by controlling us: But he had no one left to talk to about it.

Because by then we were all asleep.

When people don't fully split after trauma, the 'powerful' male authority figures in our culture call them schizophrenic.

But people like Simon are the ones who hold on when we let go. They don't split. They try desperately not to split like we did. They try to keep a coherent reality no matter how much that reality is denied.

I think Simon was a brave, beautiful kid. And now I see him. He was so strong.

And I'm glad I met him.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your journey @matrjoschka It is a very sad story and sad reality, however I loved your strength coming through in your words. Your resolve to walk through, to heal and empower yourself. Thank you for standing as an example for many in this world who have gone and are going through the same or similar experiences.

Thank you, @kimamourette.

Sharing my memories is vital to avoid repetition.

I visited Porto recently. There, they keep the city-gallows that a dictator once built as a monument. This is so that people remember what happened there and don't repeat it.

In Berlin, where I live, they have huge museums about the holocaust; memorials; there are plaques on the street outside houses where Jewish families were taken to be murdered; and parts of the Berlin wall also still stand as a reminder not to build a wall again.

But Britain has never built a single museum, or a single monument, to what people there did to millions of children. And that's why they repeat it. They don't even remember it.

So, it's up to me, and other survivors, to build these places, and part of that momument is writing about what they did to us. That's why I'm here.

Thanks for reading :)

I'm sorry for your loss. Thank you for writing so honestly, it was very touching to read and you write in a very beautiful way. My dream is to work with raising awareness about mental health issues and I'm trying to begin that work here on steemit. I want to promote people who talk openly about any difficult experiences or psychological problems they've experienced. Would it be okay for you if I resteemed your post? Mia

Thank you, @mialinnea .
Simon died many years ago, but it was only today that I began to fully reflect on it and process my feelings about what society did to him. To all of us.

I like the sound of your plan. Awareness is healing.

Feel free to Resteem. I'm glad to share my experiences and feelings.

I wish you everything good in your processing, hope you can come to peace with what you are feeling. I resteemed your post :) take care, Mia

I have never tried the LSD, I wonder what it gives as sensation. In any case your story is sad and very touching. We see that it makes you sorry. I'm with you.

Thanks @izbing

I think for a person who is completely awake and with themselves, a micro-dose of LSD will do nothing.

LSD does nothing except connect up a person's brain. If a person's brain is already interconnected; nothing will happen.

However, for a person who has yet to face aspects of themselves, it will begin to join those aspects together. This is why many people fear it. They fear deeper connection with themselves.

It's basically a bridging technology that connects parts of the mind up just like the Internet connected parts of the world up.

We can use it to heal if we feel split.

Very sad story. However, you must forge ahead and be strong.

Thank you for witnessing. Have you watched this http://documentaryheaven.com/chosen/

Thanks @creationofcare,
I haven't watched this, but I will. Thank you for sharing!

It made me cry, but I believe we all need to know the truth about what goes on. Take care <3

This is incredibly inspiring and powerful, and what a way to use blockchain!

In memoriam in perpetuum

OMG, thank you for bringing this out. The more people know the faster it will stop, at least I sincerely think that. Evil can only live in the dark. I know in the Netherlands, if you get known for child abuse or pedophilia you're finished if the crowd gets you.
Is there anything we can do?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82