To the guy who owns that Bitcoin atm. Now you are in my blog !

in #life8 years ago (edited)

This Douchebag. Ok let me tell you. I have nothing against anybody from the middle east. This specific guy. From the middle east who happens to own a smokeshop with a btc atm in it. Was a douchebag. I am pretty sure his business is a front for hardcore drugs or something from the part arabic convo he was having wtih his nervous looking hired hand, the lack of customers and his seemingly nonchalant confidence despite zero evidence of sell through on the shelves. Anyway, I go in to use this Bitcoin atm. Guy greets me we talk,.... He tells me I wont get really any Bitcoin for 1 dollar. I told him it was a test transaction. He said it had a 5 dollar limit. I said thats fine Ill just do a 5 or 20 dollar test. He explains why nobody can possibly ever steal my bitcoin and tells me to download some mobile wallet. I politely explain why I am not going to trust a third party generated QR code with hundreds of dollars without a test transaction. Slowly, Twice, he goes and walks back behind the counter. continues talking obviously about illicit activity only bothering to use arabic for the words he really needs me not to understand. I am like whatever fuck it. Look at the btc atm finally. The damn price is 940$. btc was 770 on Coinbase at that time.I almost just take the ass reaming but think better of it. I ask the guy if he knows who owns the btc atm . Low and behold it is his. I am in luck I thought. I said you got it set at 940. Giving him an out. He tried to tell me the blockchain send fee, tax and a "handling fee" was what that was. I looked him dead in his face and said "no it is not, that costs pennies." twice. he deadpanned. I asked him could he drop the btc price to 800. 30$ above spot price. The elephant balls on this guy he asks how much I am buying I said 200$ worth. He told me he could do it for 800 but only if I was buying about 800$. I left.

Sort:  

800 is an absurd fantasy. There are like 20 BTC atms in las vegas. I think one of them chages spot plus 7.5 percent(obv on the other side of town from me), and the other 19 are all 10% or above. This one sounds like its at around 22%, which is at the high-end of typical. I actually don't buy my own any more, but i always used to feel like a complete tool when i would have an after hours or sunday shortfall and have to resort to the ATM.

Its not impossible that this guy actually owns it, but depending on where you live, its either very very unlikely, or very very very unlikely. Hes probably just leasing it from the real operator. You actually need a ton of licensing to operate BTC atms in most jurisdictions and its not worth it to jump through the legal hoops and pay the fees involved just to stick one in your little mom 'n' pop store.

There used to be btc atms near me that blatantly broke kyc/aml not any around now lol but yea the guy told me he owned it and could change the price.

yeah, unfortunately we can't get away with that in vegas theres super tough fincen here.

what post lol this is more like a diary ahaha this was the other day for me

mycket trevli inläg

You can see the live rates on most ATMs before you visit right here: https://coinatmradar.com/ If an ATM is listed and not publishing live rates... go figure and make a wild educated guess what the reason might be... :)

ahahhah Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 59696.83
ETH 2363.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55