PLEA OF A HUMBLE NIGERIAN

in #life7 years ago

"One man can save the worrrlllllllldddddd!!" One smart American rapper Big Sean once sang, but how true is that?

Lately I've been thinking of the situation our society has been plunged into and even the world at large. Its scary when you begin to wonder what could happen if there aren't any changes made in the near future. Everyone wants it better but no one wants to put themselves out there because you know no one wants to go against the regular and be left standing out, everyone wants to blend in and that's probably the biggest problem we're having today, "sticking to the status quo." 

Most people would say stick to the norm because you don't know the out come of the other option, most people want to stick to the regular because it's cheaper, most people because it's easier, and other's because they're afraid but whats living without taking risks? @morule always used to tell me "life itself is a risk" but I never truly understood until lately.

Take Nigeria for example, she's been practicing federalism for decades now and it's obviously not working for the country for certain reasons but there has been no change and probably won't be any anytime soon. For the giant of Africa they sure are lacking in so many aspects. The Nigerian youth barely have a say in politics and what goes on in the country but that's okay because that's how things have been right from time, and although I agree that experience is the best teacher, Nigeria still desperately needs young fresh intelligent minds in key positions in her government but no, that's not even an option. You can't completely blame the government though, the youth aren't very enthusiastic about it either because "I cannot comman kill myself, who Nigeria help?, i'm my father's first son/ my mother's only child biko i cannot comman carry Nigeria on top of my head." Still can't blame them though because I mean what has Nigeria really done for them? 

Today I was having a conversation with @samstickkz which is basically what inspired this post, he asked me my course of study and this was my reply  "Started with Political science and later switched to International Relations and diplomacy, we out here tryna fix Nigeria." I was kinda shocked at my response afterwards, I don't know where that came from honestly because lately I've been so mad at the country and everything happening in it, I mean Trump actually called it a sh**hole  but I guess who's gonna fix your home for you if you don't? No one that's who and Nigeria is my home whether I like it or not.  

So yeah, do you think Nigeria can be fixed? I do so here's me telling y'all Nigerians out here, there's so many ways we can fix our country and maybe even the world at large, @samstickkz mentioned "you can change Nigeria with steemit" I totally agree, there's so many ways! So while i find mine you find your way and make a difference too I mean you never know, you in particular (ice prince voice lol) could be our messiah and maybe just as Big Sean sang, "One man can save the world" or in this case 'Nigeria".

Sort:  

Great post Miss, and one that's inspired by @samstickkz, couldn't be any better!
One man can actually save the world.

Thank you! Lol i believe so

You just made it sweet dear.

We can change Nigeria with steem. We've already started, but much more work still needs to be done

yas! so lets keep working eh?

This post is quite insightful and I am looking out for more buildup to this content. You do have an amazing angle from which you approach the matter. The fear that is suffered by the Nigerian citizen as regards change, is one that trickles from the leaders inability to try out 'unsailed' waters. Everyone wants it the easy way. Everyone wants the comfort zone. Coming out in the wild is quite expensive. My view towards life is that if it isn't adventurous , then I am yet to start living. Nice post my friend. Don't be a stranger for too long. I am Andre by the way. Love you

One man has saved the world, I believe. But we need to get more people to believe that He alone did.

Do follow back thanks.

Many thoughts ran through my mind as I peruse through your post, indeed I believe we can, but its obvious that we aren't willing to, the same youths crying of unemployments and bad governance are still selling their votes for a penny not even worth two days meal, who are these political thugs? Who are those running the campaign for the oldies? Who are those making the noise about them? Like you mentioned young fresh intelligents minds are out there buh not as rich as the oldies to buy off the youths and their votes, you know the system if you dont buy rice and wrapper for the women, throw money around the youths, youre even serious about politics yet, so whose going to support you. I sometimes went out with my Boss to survey a piece of land in a remote area somewhere in Akwa Ibom, the woman who was suppose to show us around the boundaries kept making a big fuss about going for a political rally, my boss asked her who she was going to rally for, suprisingly, she didnt even know, she only told us she would miss the bus if she spent a tad more time here and the wrapper and blouse and for the next rally, thats now bad the system is, a while ago I was watching channels tv news, some group of youths and women held placards and chanting we no go gree o, we no go gree and the correspondent asked one of them whats the protest about, wetin you no go gree? Funny enough the fellow said "Bros me ah know oo, I just dey work for my money, I no sabi" and thats how he went back to chanting ignorantly. Thats how messed up we are, until we reject peanuts and support the right minds with good prospects only then do I see a better nigeria.
I still believe in her.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64166.71
ETH 2765.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72