A ring made just for me

in #life7 years ago

My fiancé, now my wife, asks me to find and pick myself a wedding band that I will become attached to as much as I love her. And no matter the cost, she would get it for me. I looked and looked, similarly to what I did when I was looking for her rings. Finally, after a few weeks of looking to no avail, she took me to a jeweler in Yokohama named Niwaka. This place was the real deal. You couldn't even look at a ring without a reservation. So, we made one, went and had lunch and then went back for our afternoon reservation.

The ring I was interested in was a gold and platinum blend. The leaves that are on it are from a popular yet small tree called a Momiji 紅葉. Basically a Japanese maple tree but the colors on it in the fall are gorgeous. I actually keep one here at the house and definitely pamper and care for it. I always make sure it watered over the winter when its leaves drop off so it always comes back in the spring. There is some moss growing around the base which is a pain in of itself. Either way, I love the little tree. Brings a piece of nature into the house.

FullSizeRenderm.jpg

The platinum is polished, but portions of the leaves of the gold are sand blasted. The whole ring is made by hand and took about 2 and a half months. It was made down in Kyoto Japan by an Ojisan that had been making rings for 40 plus years. He doesn't even start making your ring until the order is placed. The unboxing is some akin to a set of Beats Executive Headphones. The whole thing is crisp and almost ritualistic. The knot is tied in a special manner, the paper that wraps around the porcelain box allows for you to pull it out of the wooden box. And there the ring sits. Quite the experience.

It is a gorgeous piece of art that signifies the special bond that my wife and I hold and that I am going to be forever happy and content to wear. Being a lover of nature the leaves on the ring are a perfect match for me. I am happy that she took me there to have a look. Or else maybe I would still be looking. If ever in Yokohama Japan near Sakuragicho and looking for a wedding band, Niwaka is definitely a place to stop by and check out. And in closing here, shout out and big thanks to my lovely wife for her sharp eye!

FullSizeRender.jpgFullSizeRender_1.jpgFullSizeRender_2.jpgFullSizeRender_3.jpgIMG_2739.JPGFullSizeRender_4.jpgIMG_0701.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59993.26
ETH 2312.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49