About Slowness // Our Haven in SFX

in #life11 days ago

Greetings, travelers

It's been a couple of complicated days, but I'm happy to be creating something, at least. I had some difficult episodes that got me to the edge, and I feel like me, myself and I need some time to digest it all. But me and my special ones are fine, thank you for your hypothetical concearn :)

I've been a fan of Milan Kundera for some five years now, since a dear friend of mine, Isabelleta, suggested me that I should read the Unbearable Weight of Being. She was indeed right in her recommendation, and it is one of my favorite books nowadays.

But I wanted to talk about another one of his works, called Slowness. It's a really different book, and I really do recommend it. I found a really nice quote about it on the Wiki page :

Kundera ties slowness to the act of remembering, and speed to the act of forgetting. When one wants to savour, remember, or prolong a moment, one moves and acts slowly. On the other hand, one travels fast in order to forget a past experience.

I thought it really connected with my recent experiences with trying to be more patient and present. Training your mindfulness usually can be like that: learning to savour the beauty of the simplicity of existence.

In existential mathematics that experience takes the form of two basic equations: The degree of slowness is directly proportional to the intensity of memory; the degree of speed is directly proportional to the intensity of forgetting.

Above, one quote from the original text from Kundera. There is another discussion presented by the author in the book, about dancers: people who always seem to be presenting themselves to an inexistent audience; not ever present to their real life interlocutor.

I'll have to write more in depth about it later, since I don't have my book here with me, and nor a google search nor a look up on goodreads were enough to find a good passage to illustrate it.

Anywho, I found another one that aligns with the mission I've been trying to accomplish, and that Our Haven in SFX really does contribute to. Have a good one, and make some good out there

I beg you friend, be happy. I have the vague sense that on your capacity to be happy hangs our only hope.

🍃 https://steemit.com/nature/@massola/drippin-our-haven-in-sfx 🍃

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61297.02
ETH 2687.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59