Mid-Life Crypto Crisis Vol. 2

in #life6 years ago

I had big plans for last week. Well... we all know the saying - we make plans, and God laughs.

Don't get me wrong, I did get a lot done. all the laundry and dishes are done. My basement is minimized, cleaned, and arranged. My Man-cave is organized, and I got my furnace fixed finally too, so I don't freeze while caving it up. My trip to Colorado is booked for the end of the month.

all my old documents are now scanned and backed up in the "cloud." This was a big project, but I'm glad I got it done. By the way folks, if you haven't heard of Siacoin yet, I highly recommend using it for backing up your data. Not only is it cheaper than google drive, for example, but it's decentralized, so your data is stored in multiple places with multiple copies. I can take my $2 and get 100gb of storage on google drive for a month, or that same $2 will get me 800GB of storage for 3 months with Siacoin.

https://sia.tech/

Okay, shameless altcoin plug concluded.

My focus this week has been clearing out the clutter of my living space. My mind seems to function much more clearly when my surroundings are organized.

I had made plans to see 2 of my friends this week.
My friend Bill has been doing Ecommerce for a few years and works from home. He also does my taxes, so I was hoping to pick his brain about some ways to make passive income with ecommerce while we make sure not to steal back too much money from Uncle Sam. I was listening to an audiobook this weekend about different methods of creating passive income. Private label marketing sounded like a viable option, so I wanted to run that idea by him. I would like some insight/feedback from you folks if anyone has experience with it.

My other friend John is a Computer Science major, and I was going to bring him over this brand new Lenovo laptop I bought for my wife. The processor runs constantly and the thing is slow as dirt out of the box. Also I was going to get some help from him in picking out some good components for a mining rig. I'm thinking mining Ethereum is going to be a good long term bet. I could use some good suggestions for hardware as well, especially with the crazy prices vendors want for the high-end video cards.

Anyway, neither of those things happened. We got about 18 inches of snow between Thursday and Saturday night. Welp. Try again this week.

ACHTUNG! ADULT WHITE MALE EMOTIONS AHEAD!

So one struggle I've been having this week is making sure my wife knows I am staying productive.

When both partners of a relationship have full time jobs, the dynamic is pretty easy to sort out usually. Until recently, our dynamic was simple. I would leave for work an hour or so before my wife, and get home about an hour and half after her. She would usually make sure I had something for lunch, and plenty of snacks in the fridge. While having dinner ready when I got home was a rarity, there was always some leftovers we could reheat.

Regardless, when we saw each other in the evening, we each knew what the other did that day - made money.

Now, though, that dynamic is disappeared. In it's void is this new thing. It's weird. It's awkward. I don't know what it's supposed to look like. Every day she comes home from work and asks, "So what did you do today?" I know she is genuinely interested in what I did, but for some reason my man-brain just hears "how much a lazy ass were you today?" Maybe it's just some left-over guilt from when I was younger and slacked off, wasting a good portion of my youth. Or maybe it's because I have no idea what my potential is, or what I "should" be doing.

I imagine if I were working full time, and my partner stayed home, I would want to see some evidence of their productivity. It's not exactly a trust thing. I don't think that's the issue. I just feel like she needs to see that evidence daily so it doesn't create trust issues. If I came home and everyday she was just lounging around or taking a nap with a load of dishes clogging up the sink, my first impression would not be good either.

More so now than ever before, impressions are everything. If I bust my ass all day on any given project, and my wife comes home to a napping husband and dishes in the sink, (yes, that's just her thing) what I accomplished that day doesn't matter - she will be upset.

If, on the other hand, she comes home to an empty sink and I she can see that I was working on something, we are all good. It's weird how that works. The one thing I'm not entirely sure about is my reason for making sure I'm busy when she gets home. Half the time I think I do it just because that's what I would want if I were her. The other half is I don't want her to be upset for any reason whatsoever.

Am I just being oversensitive about this?

-Massiv

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59900.81
ETH 2561.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55