DIGITAL DETOX: How Your Attachment to Screens May Be Killing Your Calm

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Years ago, whenever I felt uncomfortable, bored or began to feel tense in my body - I would instantly dig into my pocket for my iPhone. I'd scroll my Facebook timeline, check WhatsApp or read through e-mails I had received. Oh and Coinmarketcap, too!

I would keep my eyes on the screen with my friends during the moments of silence until we continue the conversation. Then also at my part-time job. During meals. On the bus or train. Almost everyone does it there! Also when in my bed I'd stare at the screen until I'd feel the sleepiness crawling in. What was the first thing I did once I woke up is for you to guess...

Feeling like you're disjointed from reality

When I chose to look up and away from the screen... I felt dizziness, fog in my mind and not knowing where I really am - especially when around many people, like on the bus, for example. It usually took me a little while to externalize myself or so to say, come back to earth

Reacting to every sound from a message, vibration or simply feeling anxious about "where your phone is" while patting your pockets - unconsciously. It had become normal. Because hey, it's celebrated and not looked upon in the society.

Gradually reducing time spent in front of the screen

There is this great phone application a friend of mine told about called Moment. This phone app let's you see how much time do you spend on your phone a day as well as which apps.

I thought I was spending about 1-3 hours a day on my phone. I was really wrong. It was ranging from 4 to even 8 hours a day.  Sounds crazy, because I never considered myself as one of the active phone users. 

Here is also some research I have found on this matter:

  • 61% admit to being addicted to the internet and their devices
  • 67% of cellphone owners find themselves compulsively checking their device
  • 50% of people prefer to communicate digitally than in person
  • Heavy internet users are 2.5 times more likely to be depressed
  • High Social Media use can trigger an increase in loneliness, jealousy and fear
  • The average employee spends 2 hours a day recovering from distractions

Enjoy being bored!

If you weren't exposed to technology during childhood, you may remember those times of when you were bored all day and that events around you might have felt much more exciting because of the contrast. And that is how life for civilization was always, it was natural to be bored very often.

  • Think about anything or look outside the window instead of your phone when in public transport / your car.
  • Avoid spending time in front of the screens hours before bed.
  • Feeling uncomfortable makes you want to take your phone? Just observe the feeling.
  • Spend more time outside.
  • Look in the distance.
  • Pat at least one cat or dog a day... Bonus if it's a pine squirrel.
  • ...list goes on for your own creativity.



upvote  ̶  comment  ̶  follow

Sort:  

Blue light destroys our health and well-being. Go outside. Sungaze. Ground. Buy blue-blockers.. Check Jack Kruse. Don’t give up on technology or at least compensate a little bit

I agree. Technology is one of the greatest things we have come up with, but we need to stay grounded nevertheless. It leaks your energy.

What's your relationship with screens?

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Upvoted ☝ Have a great day!

Same to you, Mike.

Congratulations @mashup! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you, Che!

I do not recommend promoting your own posts under ones of others. Your reputation will burn. Your reputation may have degrees of burns, just like described in your post. Don't do that.

Im sorry....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93