Is An Institution Acting Up? Hire A Good Lawyer

in #life7 years ago (edited)

The Judiciary, as believed, is the last hope of the common man. Bosses, sometimes, of an institution will interpret the law wrongly to disfavour you. Don't be frightened! Hire a good lawyer/arttoney. Fight for your right.


Royalty free image: Pixabay

Sort:  

People hardly sue here, that is the reason some corporation could trample on people's right. The employers run a slave service and get away with all sorts of inhumane treatment of employees and people keep quiet due to scarce/non-existent jobs. I think if one of them is made an example of and sued and made to pay till they declare bankruptcy, then others may sit up to avoid a similar fate.

I watched this TV series, Shameless where the man survives from earnings from the lawsuit the employers paid him for injuries (which he made happen) while working. If it was here, when you are injured you get sacked and a replacement is gotten immediately with no compensation from your employer simply because the injured sacked employee does not know he could sue the company for unsafe work condition, compensation for injuries sustained while on active duty and other things of that nature.

I have seen military wives thrown off barracks with nothing when their husbands die in active service. They quietly go home and suffer. The list is simply endless.

People hardly sue here, that is the reason some corporation could trample on people's right.

I couldn't agree more. Until people know their rights and fight for it, they will lose a lot in life. Trust me. I understand the place of poverty of many Nigerians. However, such people could visit some NGO law firms that could help them.
There is a case at hand, where apparently an extract of the law has been misinterpreted. My attorney is working on the case. Yes, it is costing me money. I don't expect my lawyer to defend me for free. Justice is what I seek for. The injustices in this world is too much. Like you rightly stated

I think if one of them is made an example of and sued and made to pay till they declare bankruptcy, then others may sit up to avoid a similar fate.

Yes, someone needs to be made a scapegoat to serve as a deterrent to others. Even if you don't want to sue outrightly, you can at least appeal your case, I think.

I am happy I see some civil right defence lawyers working pro bono to help the poor get justice. I had an uncle, late now, that schooled in London. The man was feared because he even took a community to court for unlawfully dividing his land in the guise of doing a community road. He won. The community paid him so much compensation. The daughter too is like him, she dealt with Nigerian senators and House of Rep guys while serving here. I won't mention her name though :)

We also hope the common man gets a good lawyer

@camzy, please follow my comment and @greenrun's on the comment thread. Cheers.

Here how much money you have is how much justice you can buy. Even a simple case can get crazy expensive. Most time people just scream at each other they are going to sue. People with money or those who take advantage of others love the court system here.

I personally try and not use it. Can take weeks to years to just resolve something that does not seem very complex from the outside. Not to mention several years’ worth of income in many cases. Often not making it worth the effort in the first place.

@maryfavour I think a lot of people are not aware of their rights and that something can be done when an act is committed against the law. We need more enlightenment in this part of the world. As they say, "Information is Power"

Fighting for the rights is very important !! rightly said !!!

Alas in my country judicial system is compromised.That is why there is no hope for common man.

lawyers are always there to fight for our right. There are large numbers out there that are still committed to support common man in winning cases

Hello @maryfavour

You are very right in your advice to us all. I have never been found wanting to take all necessary means to fight for my right. And I will continue to do this for as long as possible. Thanks for reawakening the sleeping giant in some people

@eurogee for @euronation

It's not that easy getting justice or fair hearing in this country. The rate of corruption is high and if you don't have loads of money, you could be denied justice. Thank you ma for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51