Our Ducklings First Adventure Outside

in #life6 years ago


Our ducklings are getting BIG! Sammy the white duck takes two hands to pick up now. It was only a short time ago she fit perfectly in one hand. Since they are getting big I decided to give them their very first romp outdoors today so they could stretch their legs outside the brooder. I thought I'd share a dtube video of them and some pictures.

I finally got a good picture of Reese

IMG_4864 2.jpg

IMG_4834.JPG

Reese is very skittish and she never stays still long enough for me to get a good picture. She's gained the nickname Reese's Pieces because she falls to pieces when I come near here. I've read her breed of duck is usually skittish which explains why I'm having a hard time getting her to bond with me. She's such a beautiful little brown duck though. I love how pretty she is.

Smokey Loves Treats But Is Also Skittish

IMG_4840 2.jpg

Smokey also runs from me but she loves treats. She'll come and eat out of my hand. She's tall and can block the other ducks from getting to my hands so she can eat all the treats.

It was really fun seeing Smokey and the BanDucks out in the yard for the first time. They loved eating bugs and grass. They went wild. Then, we got a quick rain and the ducks experienced thunder and getting wet from the sky. They seemed confused at first but after a bit really enjoyed the water. Where the water drains from our gutters, it caused a small stream of water to flow through the yard. The ducks drank and played in it. Gosh they were adorable. When they seemed to be getting cold I brought them back in the house and put them under their heat lamp.

Bandit and Sammy Chilling

IMG_4871 2.jpg

Overall, a great day with the ducklings. I can't wait until they are old enough to move outside and roam free.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Wow! They have grown quickly. They are pretty. Soon you'll have them outside where your daughter will get to play with them (chase)...

Oh she tries to get in the brooder we have in the house for them. Caught her sneaking in it the other day trying to catch the yellow duck. She really gives them hell but she loves them so much lol.

Super cute. I'm sure by now they will follow you where ever you go.

They are still a bit skittish. Having them in the house where they don't have much space to be with me is a bit hard. I think once they are in their coop outside I can sit with them and they can get to know me better.

They look like they're getting a lot bigger! I like how their wings are still small, though. It sort of makes them look like cherubs.

I picked the white one up today and she is so huge. Even two handed she's getting too big to hold easily. It is strange their wings are small. I see feathers growing on Sammy near the wings. They will look more normal once they have feathers.

Every day bigger and funny, very beautiful ducks, I love smokey is too picaro.hahaha enjoy watching your photos.

I enjoy Smokey. She's a cute duck.

Nice ducklings there cute!

Thank you. They are cute.

Wonderful photos of the ducks @marxrab! They look really cute!

Also..

You got SNEKKED!
Because we love your post!!

You Got Snekked is a curation project!
We aim to find good content and share a happy moment and some visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post in our compilation. If you don't want to be featured please let us know!
You can find us on Discord You Got Snekked Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47