What is a Fidget Spinner And Why Would You Overstock Them?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

My husband and I were riding through town when we passed by this huge sign advertising "fidget spinners."

IMG_7175 2.jpg

I feel finally at the age of 31 I am officially out of touch with youth culture. I have no idea what the hell fidget spinners are. My 10 year old niece showed me hers and I still don't know what they are and what the big deal about them is. They spin. I get it. I guess it's cool.

I started laughing when my niece told me kids did tricks with them like balancing them on the tip of their finger or nose.

screams-of-joy-2481573_640.jpg

Know what kids were doing tricks with when I was a kid? The Yo-yo.

Watch How Impressive This Kids Tricks Are

I'll take a good old yo-yo over these newfangled fidget spinners any day. I have no interest to watch a 10 year old balance a fidget spinner on their nose and pretend I'm impressed.

I guess one local business bought too many thinking they'd be in demand but realized their mistake when not enough were bought. The mom and pop stores can't compete with good old Wally World Down the road. Walmart has them at the checkout lines. No one's going to go to historic downtown just to get a fidget spinner. It was a nice idea to carry a popular product. Hope they can sell them before the trend disappears.


follow me marx rab.jpg

Sort:  

I first noticed figit spinners online a few months ago selling on ebay. Not the cheap toys in stores today but expensive $200-$500 and up made of precious metals and finely machined for balance. My figit toy is basically my phone. They also have fidget spinner apps. And custom figit toys that are themed to your favorite things like heros and such. Harry potter figit spinners for example ;)

Interesting. I'll pass on the figit spinners...apps for phones? Yeah that'll really be great for kids. Give them more of an excuse to stare at their phones instead of playing.

The original idea with these was to further monetise the fact that most kids are medicated these days and need another drug to stop 'fidgeting' in class. Then schools started banning them, rendering them pointless.

Kids will want to buy anything. But yes I prefer a yo-yo as well.


See your post mentioned here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47