The Bleeding Room

in #life6 years ago

Last year when my husband and I bought our house the place was a horrible mess. The house had been on the market off and on for eight years. We would learn that different banks and foreclosure companies kept buying and selling it to try to make a profit but the house was so ugly no one wanted it...until my husband and I came along.

The house looked horrible. I totally understand why. The place was damaged. People broke in during it's vacancy and broke windows and stole stuff. People started renovations but gave up before finishing so the house was ripped apart in places. My husband saw the house and saw potential. It was a foreclosure and so cheap we could buy it with our savings with money leftover to renovate.

One room in particular was incredibly ugly and I named it the bleeding room...

IMG_1865 2.JPG

Someone had torn this room apart and painted one section of wall this bloody red color. When I first saw it I joked to my husband that maybe someone was murdered in there and they covered it up with red paint. We couldn't figure out why no one wanted the house for eight years.

Even though the place looked horrible, when you really assessed things they weren't so bad. The bleeding room had a broken window pane. That's actually how we got in to look at the house. The doors were locked so we just climbed in through the window. It didn't have wood or any cover over it to keep people out.

IMG_1900.JPG

The floors were terrible. Someone ripped up carpet and left all the staples in the floor. The wood beneath had splinters and you couldn't walk on it with bare feet. The closet still had carpet and it was so nasty!

IMG_1866.JPG

This particular room I was drawn to. Did I ever mention my husband and I have our own separate bedrooms?....yeah...the man snores the paint off the walls he's so loud. He eats in bed, keeps his room messy, and only watches sports. I hate food in the bedroom, like things neat and tidy, and can't stand sports.

Anyways, I wanted this to be my Marxrab cave. With a little carpet and some paint and a new window the room was improved enough to move in. I picked a shade of purple paint and black carpet because it was cheap. From the pictures the room looks wonderful.

IMG_2066.JPG

IMG_2074 2.jpg

But It isn't.

We hired a handyman to paint the room. He was ordered to put up new drywall after taking down the paneling on the lower wall....the thief didn't. He worked when we weren't there and took down the paneling but didn't put up drywall. He bought this horrible textured stuff and put it on all the walls so they have a rough texture them. Texture is designed to hide wall flaws. It hid the fact he didn't put up drywall. We later found out he stole a bunch of our tools and odds and ends. Worst part is we can't justify the cost to get rid of the texture. Up close it is ugly and you can tell he just threw it up there. It's more money and more work so I am stuck with horrible walls.

The texture is like sandpaper and gravel. It is a bit sharp in spots. On several occasions I've accidentally brushed a hand against the wall on my way out and the rough texture has scratched my skin. I was left bleeding the other day when I scratched my knuckles, breaking the skin, carrying a box out of the door.

I guess it's still the bleeding room. At least the walls are purple instead of stained red.


Banner.png

Sort:  

I'm with you on the separate sleeping rooms. Another person's snoring interfering with your sleep is no joke.

Be careful with that wicked finish! That thief should be skinned alive by his 'drywall'. Stinkin' frauds make my blood boil.

I'm wondering, could you sand down the worst of the sharpness or maybe do a skim coat of something - just to make them a little less dangerous?

Yes, my husband snores horribly and I am a light sleeper so separate rooms is a must. The room is pretty big and the texture is horrible all over. He did the texture in another room and did a good job getting it flat so it has a nicer look and feel to it. This room he did when he "fell off the wagon" with addictions he had. He was reliable til that point. Its a shame because we had plenty of work and he could have made good money if he hadn't turned to stealing to feed his addiciton.

Dang, that is a shame. I hope you can find someone else, without the 'baggage', to pick up where the other dude left off.

Nicaragua is home to shoddy and dishonourable workmanship. I never leave workmen alone until I know for sure they are reputable. Even then I have cameras installed to watch. I have learned through experience. A hard lesson to learn.

I was 5 months pregnant at the time and we lived 7 hours away. It was a situation where we couldn't be there to watch him. He was actually a great guy and did wonderful work for a while. He was trustworthy but we thing he fell off the wagon with a drug problem he had under control. When that happened his whole personality changed...shame drug addiction turns great people into horrible ones.

That is too bad. It must have been quite a chore to try and do things from so far away...

Horrible house to a wonderful oasis of peace ;)) Great work my friend ;))
Greetings from my hot and sunny place ;))

Congratulation and many blessings for you and your new home !!

There are just so many shady contractors out there! Sad but oh so true!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28