You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Seven-Dollar Eyeglasses? ~SERIOUSLY?~

in #life7 years ago

Because of cost I've stretched every pair of glasses I've had for around 6 years. They tell you to get your eyes checked every few years but it's too expensive. At a local eye doctor the cost for an appointment, frames, and lenses is over $200. It's hard when you start wearing glasses as a kid because your face grows bigger meaning you can't reuse old frames and need larger sizes more frequently. I remember it being expensive for my mom who was a hair stylist and couldn't afford that $200 bill. Thank goodness for online shopping now!

I have such horrible near nearsightedness that I can't see a single word on my laptop which is around 24 inches from my face when in my lap. Now that I have a kid I'm a bit rougher on glasses and my little one is constantly trying to grab them off my face. She contributed to the deterioration of my backup pair. Its nice to finally try buying them online so I can afford backup pairs that are the same prescription. Wearing that old pair from 2004 was absolutely horrible and I've had migraines for weeks from them. I get my first online pair soon in the mail...probably this weekend or early next week. I've excited to try them out. I might even splurge this summer and get a pair of sunglasses or maybe a pair with transition lenses.

Sort:  

There are other dirty little secrets that the optometrists won't bother telling you...

Such as that the more and longer you wear the glasses, the worse your eyes tend to become.

There are programs of special exercises that can help most people improve their vision, their ability to focus, and the overall eye function. I hope to do an article about this all one of these fine days. ;)

Thanks for the original inspiration for my article, and for your comprehensive comments!

And, before your daughter reaches reading age, I would encourage you to research ways to help her never need glasses... ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.86
ETH 2347.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52