Our Very First Christmas Tree In Nine Years

in #life6 years ago

My husband and I have never decorated our home for Christmas. We've been together nine years and in all that time we've never had a Christmas tree or put up lights. Being college students and living in temporary cities, we never wanted to invest in things we'd have to lug around to the next place of residence. Now that we own our own home and we have our daughter we felt it was time to finally get a tree and decorate.

This is a really big moment for us. It's the first Christmas we will celebrate on our own in our home. It's also the first Christmas where Little Rabbit will wake up to find gifts from Santa Claus.

IMG_9267.JPG

We decided to approach decorating our home cautiously. With a two year old and five cats, I was worried they would take down a tree and destroy. We opted for a really cheap artificial tree. A trip to Walmart found us a six foot tree, plastic shatterproof bulbs, and lights.

My daughter was asleep as I put the tree together which was nice because I got it up quick. She woke up as I was putting the lights in it. She came out and saw this new thing and instantly wanted to play. I plugged in the lights and she got really excited. She kept touching them with one finger and giggling. It was so adorable.

IMG_9263.JPG

Then, I pulled out the plastic bulbs. Little Rabbit loves balls. She likes playing with her basketball goal and has lots of little balls to play with. When she saw the bulbs I saw her eyes light up. She saw the bulbs which are round balls in different colors and was super excited. As I put the bulbs on the tree, Little Rabbit took them back off and put them back in their container. I didn't want to invest too much money in decorations that could get broken so I also used some Snoopy key chains I've had forever but never used. They were Easter themed but they key ring hung them nicely on the tree.

IMG_9262.JPG

Little Rabbit had fun pulling all the decorations off the tree. They didn't even last five minutes but that's okay. I predicted Little Rabbit would want to play with them. She's a smart kid. She moved some of her toys up to the tree and stood on top of them to reach the bulbs higher up.

We topped the tree with a stuff cat that my daughter never plays with. We figured it was cute and she wouldn't want to play with it.

IMG_9264.JPG

It's really nice to have our first Christmas tree as a family. My husband who never gets into holidays has been into this years Christmas because of Little Rabbit. He actually put up Christmas lights outside and bought a Rudolph for the roof. He's halfway done with his lights and will finish tomorrow (pictures to come).

Sort:  

Looks nice! That glow that Christmas lights put off makes for some very nice ambiance. We don't have kids to pull off ornaments, but we've had tail-wagging dogs unleash waves of destruction in the past. Wags of destruction, anyway.

Looks amazing and sounds like an absolutely magical experience. Congratulations to both of you, such an amazing milestone in your relationship. Hope the tree stays in good shape!

How sweet!!!! I love the joys of Christmas when you have a little one in the house. The real joy in the form of their innocence is so heart-warming and can bring me to tears. Just watching their eyes and their whole being is on sensory overload.

It is nice to settle in and make your own traditions, isn't it? I am glad to see that you are having Christmas and Santa at your house this year. Good call on the unbreakables, although I never had any and the kids never touched them. They were in awe of the tree and lights, but, never touched it.

The cats either! I thought for sure one would climb up. How lucky was I???

I look forward to seeing more lights and magic coming from the @marxrab house!! XXOX

!tip

🎁 Hi @marxrab! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Mountain Monday Goes Monochrome Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74