My Husband Loves To Fry Fish At 4 AM

in #life7 years ago

I love my husband dearly and think he's a wonderful man. That being said he has his quirks that sometimes drive me crazy.

portugal-1856856_640.jpg

His love of seafood and odd sleeping hours are one of them.

Early in our relationship I knew my husband loved all things seafood. When we were dating it wasn't uncommon to visit his apartment and find him cooking fish, shrimp, scallops, clams, etc. I like some seafood but I'd never say any seafood is my favorite food. My husband grew up on a peninsula surrounded by water so it was normal to eat a lot of seafood growing up in his hometown.

asian-1239427_640.jpg

I really don't mind that my husband loves seafood...it's the smell that I don't like. I can't stand the fishy smell. And I also don't like the time of day he loves to cook fishy smelling things...

After Midnight! Time To Fry Fish.

My husband and I are night owls. We tend to stay up late. More often than not my husband stays up later than me. Since I don't eat a lot of seafood I think he feels after I go to bed is the best time to have a meal all to himself. Fried fish and shrimp are his favorite foods. He'll be awake in the middle of the night and feel the desire to fry up some greasy, smelly seafood.

clams-2209621_640.jpg

I'm A Light Sleeper

The thing about frying fish and shrimp is that the fried smell for seafood is strong. It wafts all through the house and wakes me up. When my husband fries seafood in the middle of the night I wake up ready to give him my evil eye.

Like This Guy....What An Evil Eye He's Giving The Photographer
crab-298346_640.jpg

When I wake up to the smell of pure grease and seafood I am always irritated. I have a hard time going back to sleep because of the smell. My husband is a deep sleeper and sleeps through anything. He doesn't always understand how hard it is for me to sleep good because I'm such a light sleeper.

He did some frying the other night

Of course I woke up. Of course the house smelled horrible. Seafood grease doesn't disappear fast and usually stays in the air a good 5 or so hours. I was grumpy the next day. I am tempted to hide the deep fryer but under the house seems to be the only place I could put a pot of grease....and it might attract more raccoons and possums.

beach-193786_640.jpg

The Man Is Lucky I Love Him.

I wouldn't put up with just anyone waking me up regularly frying seafood.


Follow Me Update.jpg

Sort:  

There's an old woman where I work who loves to eat burnt popcorn every day. She intentionally burns it in the microwave during break and insensitively ruins the air we breath with this oder, every single day. Noone will sit near her and she was even told by management once to stop which lasted about a week. She caught the microwave on fire one time but she still insist on making her daily snack of freshly burnt popcorn regardless.

Ewwww! Nasty LOLZ!!!

Things we do for love :)

hahah, at 4am? I have a friend who likes to call at that time. Tell him to go hunting or something, I hear that's the best time to do so - right before dawn.

My boyfriend fry too late at night! XD And when i smell it in my mind i say " Aaan it's all ok. It's just Mirko " but i get angry because i find all dirty of oil when i wake up ! =(

Oh, boy, am I with you on this one. Can't stand when the house smells like a dock. I'm still trying to decide which is worse - fried - or steamed in the microwave. Hubby steams clams and mussels in the nuker. Fan spreads the smell everywhere!

Sometimes the dears are utterly infuriating. Sigh...

100% upvote. I'd much rather be smelling fish than the other smell that's constantly running throughout my house.

Nice post @marxrab!!!

While I do "like" most seafood, there are two things that I cannot tolerate:

  1. Someone who thinks it's a good idea to heat up last night's seafood dinner in one of the microwaves at work, yuck!!!
  2. Fish sauce. If I go to, say, a Vietnamese restaurant and I specifically say "no fish sauce", I will most definitely send the meal back if they forget.

Oh geez, I would have moved out lol
I can't stand the smell of seafood. I love to eat it but the smell is another story. I have a full kitchen outdoors complete with a fryer and we use that when I make seafood, which is a rare occasion, I usually go out to eat it instead. Girl that is love haha

Frying seafood at 4 am?!?! Id be calling the lawyer stat LOL!!!

I'm sure there are a few wives who divorced their husbands over seafood. lol. I'm a bit too fond of the fellow to go that far. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59601.30
ETH 2583.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48