My First Harvested Veggie From My Garden!!!

in #life6 years ago

Today was a nice day. We've had lots of rain and my garden is thriving! I got to eat my very first taste of fresh broccoli from my garden which was exciting. I got four broccoli plants at a local nursery and two had small heads of broccoli ready for picking.

Yummy!

IMG_4570.JPG

We had a rainbow after a short rain.

IMG_4579.JPG

My 4 broccoli plants minus their heads of broccoli.

IMG_4571.JPG

I predict that my radishes will be the next veggies ready to be harvested. They are suppose to be ready after only 29 days of growing and I'm excited for the day they are ready. It's so much fun harvesting food from my garden and seeing my hard work pay off. Radishes and lettuce are on the list of early harvests. I mainly planted the lettuce to feed to the ducks. It's nice to grow some of the food for my new little friends. They will be all grown up and ready for lettuce treats by the time it's ready to harvest.

I love gardening. It's so much fun and brings me a lot of joy.

Sort:  

Great broccoli @marxrab! I am growing purple sprouting broccoli at the moment :)

I love purple veggies! I'm growing some purple bush beans this year. I hope you have success with your broccoli. I found it to be a hard plant to grow. Most of mine didn't make it this year.

I love purple veg too!! I have to say my broccoli hasn't been a big producer either - the temperatures haven't been ideal, the plants got really big and now all of a sudden they are putting out very small florets, so much so that I left them to grow a bit more and they split! I recently bought some different Summer PSB seed so I am going to try planting those now and see if I have better luck. I also have cauliflower which is equally as temperamental as the broc!

I tried growing broccoli one year but it bolted and went to seed too quick for me. Maybe one year I'll try it again now that I have more gardening experience

Yeah, broccoli is temperamental. These plants I got at a nursery and they had heads of broccoli growing already. They were ready to harvest too small. I don't think I'll do broccoli again. My seeds really never thrived and were far too temperamental for the work I put into them.

The broccoli is very fresh. I think all the seeds have grown fertile. It's great fun when what has been planted grows well.

The beautiful rainbow that comes from behind the hills.

Thats really yummy @marxrab you and your husband are doing a great job.

onions about the same wait as radishes? aka 29 days?

I think green onions grow pretty darn fast. Around 30 days. I didn't plant any this year. I know if you buy green onions at the supermarket, you can put the bottoms in a jar of water and they'll regrow really fast.

Yum! Broccoli is really expensive in stores, too. At least it is up here! Apparently, it's also good for bone healing (long story). The lettuce treats sound like fun.

Have you looked at straw-bale gardening, by chance? I ask, because it works extremely well for lettuce. Tomatoes, too!

We looked into straw-bale gardening. It's a possibility for next year. We learned after planting seeds we live near a place that sells large bales of straw. Before we had no idea where to get straw bales.

Congratulations @marxrab! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

There's a great gardening community on Steemit, I'm trying to get an impressive garden going lol. I used to garden a lot at my last house when I had a large yard but hadn't even thought of gardening at my new house until I saw so many people on Steemit posting about it. I am inspired!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76