How Successful Is The Breast Feeding Spider?

in #life7 years ago

Around two months ago I noticed the unique spider. I saw it only because it had chosen an unusual home to build it's web upon...the book shelf below my breast pump. Since I have a young baby I have created an area in my bedroom to keep all my milk supplies including my pump. The tiny little spider is small enough it could easily sit on the head of an ink pen. It's web is small (only two inches wide).

At first I was a little worried seeing the spider. As I sat and pumped milk for my little one and I watched the spider sit as still as a statue, I decided it was no threat. I left it alone...

spider-1555216_640.jpg

My Breast Milk Companion

For two months this little spider has helped me in ways most wouldn't think when they see a spider. In it's web I can see gnats. Since moving out into nature my house has constantly had a gnat problem. My milk supplies (bottles, pump, nipples, etc.) seem to attract gnats to the bedroom area of the house. This little spider has had so many feasts killing gnats for me.

I work hard to keep my milk supplies sanitary. Boiling bottles/nipples, putting things in zip lock bags, and constantly cleaning different tools I need. The gnats are a pain in the ass because they often find their way into zip locks or my nice clean bottles. Then I have to go back and re-clean my supplies. Thanks to little spider who stays in it's web 24/7 my gnat problem isn't so bad anymore.

cobweb-959578_640.jpg

We visit at least 4 times a day.

Every time I need to pump milk I watch the spider. It's incredibly boring being hooked up to a milking machine. The spider helps me kill time. I check to see if it is still there and look at it's collection of gnats in it's web. It's always stocked with plenty of gnat meals. I don't worry about it biting me. I leave it alone and it leaves me alone.

spider-girl-2478975_640.jpg

Not My First Spider Friend

About 3 years ago I had a daddy long legs friend. He actually lived above my bed for close to a year. For a while I thought he was dead because he didn't move from his web but then I figured out he was either hibernating or only active at hours I wasn't around. He provided a similar service to me. He also caught gnats and ants in his web. Never seeing him leave his web I got use to his presence. Then one day he decided to leave. I saw him walking across the wall. As he got near the floor the cats got interested in the big spider so I caught him in a cup and put him outside. I was sad to see him go but I was glad he didn't die a horrible death in the mouth of a cat.

spider-155572_640.png

Not Going To Kick It Out

Many people are afraid of spiders but this little one is so very useful. It is doing what it is born to do. It made a web and is a predator hunting other insects. To me this little one is helping me out by killing bugs that are a pest. I've gotten use to seeing it there in the shelf. It is so small and it's web so small that I don't mind it being there. If it were a huge spider with a huge web I wouldn't let it stay out of fear it would bite me in the night. This little one stays in its web as far as I know so I'll leave it be and let it stay as long as it keeps away from me.

Have you ever had a spider friend?


follow me marx rab.jpg

Sort:  

Good for you and the spider. You're right - it's doing what it was born to do and you get the benefit. I'd say it's earning it's keep.

;~D

Exelente post, friend goes ahead showing more content

wow I got a bunch of them around the house. they do kill a lot of insects but they do a lot of web so I need to clean part of the webs often.

We get a lot of spiders too. Especially out on the porches.I get rid of a lot of spider webs. This particular one I've grown fond of though.

That is the one little thing that I am not scared of...I don't love them but I also leave them alone. I have been bitten by quite a few spiders which should make me hate them but they seem to like me...lol!

Where I live I've had to accept spiders. Out here in the woods they build webs so quickly that I can't keep up with knocking them down. I've at least learning the dangerous ones so I can get rid of those.

I did a Monochrome Monday post a week or two ago with a tiny little spider on a battery. Well he is still on my window sill. He doesn't bother me, and I don't mess with him...except to post pics of him...and he aint complained yet lol.

I think I remember that one. I'm glad you still have your spider. Maybe it is aspiring model and enjoys your picture taking :)

I have a black widow spider in my office that I need to get rid of...

Thus far, she has been just too fast when I've tried. Clock is ticking, as I don't want an egg sack with hundreds of babies to appear.

Is that a photo of your friend, or stock? The little guy in the photo does look like a good, well-behaved companion.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Those are stock. My friend is so tiny my camera can't zoom close enough. I'd be freaked out about a black widow! I see those from time to time out here in the woods. I've even seen brown widows. They are neat looking but I don't want them in my house.

Yeah; I want to dispatch the one behind me... it is very wily, though, and scurries behind some things whenever I approach. I need to whack it really good with some kind of tool, very quickly and decisively, when it least expects it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67096.35
ETH 3509.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.22