@FullTimeGeek Gave Me A Wondeful Gift!

in #life7 years ago

ft geek 8.jpg

Yesterday I logged into Steemit to find the most pleasant of surprises! Someone had delegated 5000 Steem to me. But I had no idea who. I searched high and low but my skills as a private eye are limited. I wanted very much to find the person who was so generous and thank them for being so kind!

I enlisted help from my good friends @giantbear and @hopehuggs and they helped me figure out that @fulltimegeek was the person I was looking for! All I can say is THANK YOU so much!! Your gift was so unexpected and amazing.

black-divider-no-background-hi.png

Logging Into My Account I Couldn't Believe My Bunny Eyes.

ftgeek 2.jpg

I eat carrots everyday so I knew my vision was perfect. After seeing your gift I was so excited I had to jump and sing!

black-divider-no-background-hi.png

ftgeek 3.jpg

black-divider-no-background-hi.png

And because rabbits love puns I couldn't help myself...

ftgeek 5.jpg

black-divider-no-background-hi.png

Your gift was so nice I couldn't contain myself...

ftgeek 6.jpg

black-divider-no-background-hi.png

ftgeek 7.jpg

black-divider-no-background-hi.png

After calming down I sat down to write you a thank you letter which you are reading now.

ftgeek 1.jpg

I joined Steemit back in April because a friend encouraged me to join thinking I'd have a great time here. I was pleasantly surprised to find quite a few really great friends here and I enjoy visiting everyday. I blogged about my life and created the Steemit Diner and Marxrab Comics as a way to have fun and make people smile. I commented like crazy trying to find kindred spirits in a sea of minnows and other sea critters. Over time I found my own little community of friends and have even made long term friends with the use of tools like Discord.

I have no idea what I did to catch @fulltimegeek 's eye but I plan on being just as generous with this gift. I feel like I have been lucky in my time here on Steemit and that I've done pretty good just by working hard. I've made some great friends and people seem to enjoy visiting my work. With @fulltimegeek's gift I'll share a little sunshine with as many as I can.

I'm active in the education community here because I'm a doctoral student and former teacher. Hopefully I can use my votes to help support others in the education community who work hard to write useful and original informative posts. I'll also just be generally kind and support anyone who writes really great original content and works hard here.

One goal of mine as my account grows is to give back. Like I said, I've been lucky in my time here and it makes me happy to help out those who are new and struggling. I love that @fulltimegeek gave me a temporary chance to have the SP to give more than a few pennies here and there. My vote right now at 78% is 48 cents. It's so enjoyable to support posts that deserve it and to support great commenters.

Again, thank you @fulltimegeek. I saw you delegated SP to others as well and that is so amazing of you! You are a great part of the Steemit community and I love seeing people like you do nice things for others.


Banner.png

Sort:  

Congrats on the win.
Whilst I am happy for you, I am concerned that the basis of steem seems to depend on the "generosity" of whales.
While it is great for an individual to win the lottery or to get a hand up/out, I am concerned about that as a methodology to build a platform.

When I see the "bad" whales restricting free speech on non-pc conversation by down votes etc etc, it all seems a bit "top down controlled" IMHO

Thank you! I really don't know what to think anymore about how the system works. It has it's flaws for sure. There are a several whales who I see all over the place that seem really great and try to help those who are smaller. But there are also those who love the down vote button. For me, my methodology coming in was to be as social as possible to let people know I'm reading and a bit about me. Making connections and participating in the community makes a huge difference in the long run. I don't always have whales supporting my posts but I do have good friends who stop by and read and upvote.

Those who started early became whales.
The system is now run by them.
They think they "help" by giving out money.
On the flip side, other whales are down voting & killing rep & earning because they "dis-like" certain content.
Basically a top down controlled environment.
And the plankton/minnows arrive, all excited, and then leave disappointed/disallusioned => steem gets a reputation of "scam site".
The fix is easy IMHO.
1 person = 1 account = approx 10 votes per day (at what ever value).
Then 'power' moves away from the few and the base will grow. IMHO

What a nice surprise! I'm sure you will do great things with the SP, @marxrab.
Mo

I will try! Thanks for commenting

He seems like a really generous guy. It looks like he delegated to several people. What a cool gift..... it should definitely make time here more fun and interesting.

I know. He really does seem like a generous person. I'm so lucky he thought of me to give a delegation to.

I am happy for you my dear friend!! Congratulations

Thank you!

Congratulations. Steemit works in mysterious ways...I too will take my most generous gift from @fulltimegeek to give a leg up and encouragement to other newbies here.

Thanks! I'm so glad you got a gift too. It really is a nice surprise and cool we can pay it forward to help others.

That is so cool of him! He actually did the same to a guy I brought over from YouTube. I think he made some good choices!

Have seen @fulltimegeek doing this to so many people. His generosity is supreme:) congratulations on the awesome surprise!

cool stuff, happy for you.

I am also waiting to be discovered by a generous whale. :P

You doing very well my dear friend. I love you have you here and read your all stories my dear Lady. Thank you for being the part of that beautiful community ;)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58493.60
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41