Ducks, Inlaws, Birthdays, and Not A Moment To Rest

in #life6 years ago

This past week was an extremely busy week! My husband's birthday, out of town guests, and lots and lots of work. Right now writing this is the first time I've been on my laptop since Wednesday.

My husband turned 41 on Thursday. I don't think he was too thrilled with his birthday. He was a bit weird and melancholy. All he wanted to do for his birthday was stay home, order take-out Olive Garden, and chill with me and the baby. I got him a taser and a car charger for his phone as a gift. He sometimes drives for Uber and I figured he needed a taser in case he picked up a crazy person someday.

I made him the world's best cupcake recipe: Mascarpone Cupcakes. Recipe Here

IMG_4364.JPG

These cupcakes are amazing. If you have to make one cupcake recipe, I recommend you bake this one. My husband is weird. He hates desserts. He prefers dinner food. Mascarpone cupcakes is the one dessert he loves and he asked me to make them for him for his birthday. I like them without icing. They melt in your mouth with fluffy softness. My husband puts chocolate icing on them.

Smokey and the BanDucks are getting huge!!

IMG_4368.JPG

IMG_4389.JPG

I love my ducklings. They are about 2 weeks old now. Today is the first day I had to use both hands to pick them up. In 3 weeks they can be moved outside. I look forward to that day. Adorable as they are, ducks are messy, messy critters. They love to play in water. Everyday I have to clean their pen out twice because they soak their bedding and get wet and cold. Wet duck poop, wet duck food, and wet bedding smells up the house. Since they don't have their adult feathers yet they can't retain body heat. Dragging the plastic tote home of theirs outside to clean it twice a day is a lot of work. It's been really hot here lately. It's not enjoyable to be outside. We've had a lot of rain which has made it muggy. On top of other things like preparing for out of town guests, cleaning the duck tote has become a pain. I'll be glad when the ducklings are all grown and can enjoy the yard where they can make as much mess as they want.

Mother-In-Law Comes To Town!

The biggest event of the week is my husband's mother came to town this week. She has only seen our 19 month old daughter three times in her short life so it was a big deal for her to visit. She doesn't travel often and it was a nine hour drive for her. My husband's sister came with her all to visit our little rabbit. We wanted our house to be clean and nice so my husband worked hard in every room to put on a good presentation. Not an easy task when you have a baby who messes up your cleaning within minutes of finishing a job.

IMG_4426.JPG

Little Rabbit really came to play too! I don't think my daughter has been more adorable for any guests to our home before. She went to her grandma she's barely known right away. She laughed and played and interacted with them. She wasn't a bit shy. Little Rabbit looked so angelic in her panda bear dress.

My mother and sister-in-law had a great visit with the baby and really got to enjoy her. I'm happy they had a good visit and got to catch up with my husband and daughter. My husband has a great family and it's a shame they don't all get to visit with one another more.

All Tuckered Out

I literally haven't stopped working all week. I've cleaned and cleaned and cooked and cleaned. I made lasagna tonight before my husband's family left to go back home. Lasagna is a lot of work and heating up the kitchen in hot weather was no fun. I'm finally cooling off and working to catch up on Steemit. So glad all the chaos of life is passing and we can chill and relax.


Banner marx.jpg

Sort:  

You are very good, preparing everything to welcome your husband's birthday.

Seeing the cupcake during the day at my place made me so hungry. :)
Here we are doing fasting, because it is ramadan.

Difficulty maintaining the duck is on the wet dung. Somehow they like to get wet.

Although I have not had a child yet, but playing with a small child is fun.

What a cuddly and soft life, full of lovely eyes that look at you so wonderfully. Happy birthday for your husband.

Sometimes rest is not about laying all day in bed, is about doing different things than the ones you ussually do on your daily basis. Your mind will feel more rested and energized by focusing in other things that you like instead of just sleeping.

Little rabbit looks adorable with that tutu dress! :)

You are great in your busy life happy birthday to your husband. And ducking habits too great. I love duck ' hen , parrots.

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is in the conceptual phase and we would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

I love to see the duck and they are pretty nice. You love to care them.

This is busy may in your life thank a lot for sharing this stuff.

Awww... Does the yellow duck (Sammy?) feel out of place, because she's so much brighter than the others?

I totally understand the birthday thing. Mine's coming up this week and all I really want to do is hide. Maybe I can make some of those cupcakes?

Nice photos! Glad you survived the mother-in-law visit :-)

Happy Birthday to hubs!!

Wow those ducks are really growing!!!

Daughter is always so cute.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20