A Day Without Internet Challenge Entry

in #life7 years ago

I decided to share a story inspired by @looftee 's challenge #adaywithoutinternet

Last year I had to spend 10 days without the internet. Normally my entire life is on the internet: my work, school, keeping up with family members. Last September I was pregnant and suffering badly. I had kidney problems that couldn't heal because they were brought on by my pregnancy. My home had been broken in a month before while I was home and I was constantly stressed out and worrying about another break in and my health. My doctor finally forced me to have a c-section six weeks early.

My doctor called me and diagnosed me with preeclampsia. She also said my kidneys were doing horribly and that I needed to check myself into the hospital immediately to have my baby. I sat and cried for an hour because I was so scared. I wasn't ready. It was six weeks early and I didn't have her crib put together or clothes or diapers.

I checked into the hospital and they made me wait until the next day to have a c-section. I was in the hospital for 10 days and didn't have access to the internet or outside world. Not having the internet was the best thing for me in that situation. My little girl was only 3 pounds, 11 ounces and she had to stay in the NICU. After 2 days I got moved to a special room in the NICU where I got to stay with her.

Picture of My Baby Girl on Day #4 In The NICU

IMG_2917 2.JPG

The first day I was a mom I broke down crying. My husband had to take care of getting our home clean and ready for a tiny baby who needed to stay away from germs. I was all alone that first day and so scared. I had no idea what I was doing. I'd never held a baby before. I didn't know how to be a mother. They didn't let me see my baby for 24 hours after she was born because a c-section is major surgery and they had to monitor me. This was hard because I didn't get to bond with her immediately. I barely got to see her the first 3 days of her life because she had to be in a isollete to keep her warm.

I spent 7 full days in the NICU with my daughter and never left her side. Because I didn't have a laptop or access to the internet I had no distractions and focused on her and learning to be a mother. She was so tiny and fragile. I'm glad I had to stay in the hospital 7 days because the nurses showed me how to change her diaper, take her temperature, feed her, and bathe her. If I had been allowed to take her home sooner I might have been less prepared. I in turn taught my husband how to care for her when he came to visit. We took turns feeding her.

I didn't really miss the internet or my laptop. I didn't watch TV. I did feel out of touch with the world but it was nice to just live in this little hospital room and just be with my baby. It was like being in another world where it was just me and her and I was her comfort and warmth and food source. I've never felt closer to another human than those first days with my daughter.

#Photo of My Room for 7 Days
IMG_2919.JPG

Sort:  

Wow, great Inspiring story, I literally felt your feelings going through all this during this phase, I am truly touched @ marxrab

Thank you for this very beautiful and touching story about how you became a mom! Congratulations!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

How old is your daughter now?

Here we were told that a woman must get up and walk around as soon as possible after a c-section, otherwise the healing process takes longer due to all the trapped air. No monitoring or any of that after the first hour.

She is 7 months now. I had to be given some medicine because of my kidneys and preeclampsia before and a little while after my surgery. It made me throw up every hour for 24 hours. It was horrible. I'd take a drink of water because I was dehydrated only to throw it up minutes later. I couldn't get out of bed too quickly because I was so nauseous. I had to wait until the next day to try walking.

That sounds terrible.

We have a 7 month old as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68180.36
ETH 2642.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70