Being Weird

in #life5 years ago

There is a special place called loneliness that is the destination of all truly weird people. Those that are authentically weird would find themselves at an advantage to avoid expressing their weird nature, but it is all too tempting to just be weird. Young weird people do not believe this true because they are the center of attention, but as age creeps in, the positive effect on others wears off and cute and cool becomes conspicuous and creepy. By the time most weird people realize this, it is too late and their fate is already laid before them.

DSC01181.JPG

Weird people are not social, but can be great actors! This is how they can succeed in the world of people to which they cannot relate. Fake it 'till you make it, as they say. Well, weird people have to fake it until the end. Or they can stop and live their authentic weird selves and brace for the social consequences. This can be both liberating and debilitating at the same time. On one hand you finally feel freedom of expression which has been for a life-time suppressed in order to integrate with society, but on the other hand, the weird one is ostracized. This leads to seclusion as the weird one withdrawals from society.

There are other weird people out there too that will become your friends, but as age creeps in, people find their little holes. Normal people have families and friends, but weird people generally do not and even if they do, there is little to no communication. It seems there are only so many holes and the ones who are left without one are utterly lonely forever seeking a resting place. Like dying of dehydration in the middle of the ocean, the weird one cannot at this point reintegrate into society and soon begins the downward spiral that consumes the weird one with depression. This is not an issue when the weird one is young because lots of young people act weird, even if they are totally normal, so it is easy to make friends and integrate for the truly weird individual. However the truly weird ones persist beyond adolescence. Slowly, normal people disappear and soon the weird one talks to no one.

Being weird is not easy; so be nice to weird people. Their inner struggle is one you will never know. They cannot stop being weird any more than you can stop being you.

Sort:  

Loved your post - I hope congratulations from a weird count.

I have reached 76, but it is not due to age, I've been considered weird ever since I was a kid. Though I am in many ways as you described, I am not lonely, though never married, but I have a friend or two and family who love me - as my niece said to me, "I don't understand you, but I love you like a father."

Maybe I differ from your prototype, in that I am soft and can rarely say 'no'.

Thanks, I enjoyed reading your analysis

(I've sometimes wondered whether a club for weirds would do well, but then I decided it is not likely I'd enjoy having them around me. Maybe just one or two at a time...)

Thank you Arthur. Sometimes being weird can also be a recipe for longevity because one avoids the drama associated with having lots of friends. I am the same way as you - a few good friends; it is almost summer time and people are busy so it feels even more quiet in my world, but I stay busy with art and projects as well.

Until 15 years ago, the British loved eccentrics - which was one of the reasons I loved and admired the British. Unfortunately they have changed...

Some of the other ways life has changed, which are weird:

  • salt used to be from the sea - now it is filled with chemicals that harm us, so, to be careful it means we must use salt taken from the tallest mountain in the world - the Himalayas (actually, I do not recall the details, but I think the tallest is actually a mountain deep in the ocean...

  • I had always planned on having myself cremated....now...I'm thinking of donating my body to MacDonalds for them to make hamburgers....

..and so it goes :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57946.22
ETH 3059.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34