What Is The Moon

in #life7 years ago

Oh mother, how does the sky look? And what is light and what is the moon?

About their beauty you speak, but I don't see any of it.

Is this world darkness upon infinite darkness?

Oh mother, give me your hand and perhaps boredom will leave me.

I walk with fear of tripping, at day or dusk.

I walk unguided, whether the path is long or short.

I walk with trepidation lest I encounter a sudden danger

and the earth to me is all the same, the flat and the potholed.

My cane is my vision. Can you imagine vision so solid?

Children run and play and frolic and there's no problem for them in that.

But I am blind and sitting at home, in place

God is kind to me and He alleviates my distress

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 What Is The Moon - Poem by Ahmad Shawqi

Ahmad Shawqi Ali  Ahmad Shawqi Bey, Egyptian writer and poet is one of the greatest and  most famous Arab poets in modern times, nicknamed "Prince of Poets" 

Image source  1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94