What if?

in #life8 years ago

We have just this life, right? Then, it’s not wise to live without perceiving each step, as we won’t have the opportunity to live the same situation more than once.
At my age, 60, I suddenly stopped and asked myself “the” question. Should I have done differently with my love life?
I got married totally for love, but we weren’t compatible persons. We disagreed in every and each aspect of life. So, we ended up getting divorced (we have managed, for more than 25 years, to maintain a distant but consistent friendship, as we have a daughter).
I had the dream that my perfect match lived somewhere, and he was looking for someone just like me. So, I put myself on his search. I stayed with my eyes open. I even made three travels to other parts (far away) of the world. Nothing!!!
After some time, I thought I should help him to find me with more effort, so joined sites that helped people like us. Nothing!!!!
I had many interesting experiences, such as becoming a friend to a German guy, whom I never actually met , finding a very sweet man here, in my city, who dated me and a 25 yo girl at the same time, and other disasters… I exchanged letters for about 1,5 year with an English man who even came to meet me. We talked a lot, he was very nice .. so nice that after some time, after he returned to his country, he told me he had decided to change his sexual option… I can tell: my divorced life has never been lack of excitement.
About five years ago, after my last fail, that time with an old and dear friend, I found myself tired of searching, and returned to my nest, door closed. If HE insists and wants to find me, HE has to come to my apartment, knock the door and knock loudly!!!
Well, now I’m facing the reality. I’m alone.
So, the question is: what if I had stayed with my marriage and tried harder, not dreaming so much about the perfect match?
Maybe this romantic idea of someone perfect for other is just a dream?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56775.06
ETH 2345.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36