The Car That Steem Bought! Finally, I Got My Steem Powered SUV!!! & More About the Life That Steem Is Building!

in #life7 years ago

It’s been a while since I’ve been able to drive a vehicle of my choosing. I have a big family, and while I never have to walk, or wait for the unreliable public transport in OKC, I end up with the leftover car some kid outgrew, or the beater someone gave us because they didn’t need it, while my wife, the pretty princess, drives the newest thing we’ve got.

It’s all good. I would not have it any other way, but all that changed today!

The last year has been an amazing ride. My freelance career has finally hit a place where I make enough to be picky about my projects and I’m getting a lot of book length work, which is great. At the same time, a snarky post in a writing group last summer led me here, which has literally changed my life.

Now, I’m not one of the ones that has managed to become truly wealthy off of steem, yet. But, it has contributed to a very financially successful year for me and my family. I shared some of that here, where I talked about my daughter’s wedding, which my steem earnings helped pay for.

Here’s a list of things I’ve been able to do this year with the help of Steem, many of which we did without before.

  • Shopping spree on our all-expense paid Cancun vacation that my wife earned. We bought literally everything we wanted.

  • Every bill, on time, all year for the first time since my eighth kid was born. Not all of them were paid through Steem earnings, but it made it possible.

  • A week long trip to Chicago from Oklahoma, including gas, food, excursions and hotel, for five.

  • New summer wardrobe for me, and several kids who needed it.

  • A Galaxy s8, to replace my badly outdated Motorola phone

  • Excursions for the Paris trip I am paying half of in August, more on that to come

  • FINALLY! The Steemmobile! My 03 Mitsubishi Montero Sport, paid for in cash, including tag and title!

For those who are new here, keep it up. It’s not easy to get to the top and cash in the bigger rewards, but if you contribute, it can be done! I’ve been very happy to get a chance to develop some writing that otherwise would have been hard to get paid to do, and to enjoy a great community, while getting a first hand education in the earning and use of crypto currency!

Me and my Steemmobile will be heading out on our first road trip on Friday to collect my son Gideon from summer camp, 2 ½ hours with stops along the way to take small town Oklahoma mainstreet photos and have some good local cooking. I’ll be sure to share some pics with you when I get back.

I’m not sharing this to brag, but just to show you what’s possible and as the community grows and the price of steem increases, more and more of us will be able to enjoy the sizable rewards it takes to really make a difference in our lives. We are creating our own wealth here and it’s an amazing concept.

My hats are off to you, the Steem miners, plugging away at your keyboards and cameras to produce the infrastructure of a new economy. While others are sweating it over robots taking our orders at Mc Donald’s (maybe they’ll finally be right the first time) we’re here, building the future.

I’ll be thinking of each of you every single time I slide behind the wheel and turn the key on my next adventure and you can be sure that the SteemMobile will be featured in many of my upcoming stories here on steemit. Steem on, Steemians, the future is now!

Sort:  

You finally did it! Congratulations on buying the Steemobile! I would have gone with a Ford myself, but only because I'm stubborn, crass, and stuck in my ways. :D It's been an absolute pleasure following you for the last year, boss. Keep up the excellent work, and I look forward to the pictures from your stop on the way back from picking up your son. Enjoy the ride, and, as always STEEM ON!

This is incredibly encouraging! I love seeing how this platform can improve family life for people. I'm very new to the platform and it's exciting to see what you have been able to accomplish. Congrats!

Upvoted and also resteemed!

Hey, great! Thanks! This story and others like it need to spread!

Congratulations is a great achievement, blessings.

thanks. it's well within reach for anyone who will work at it.

This is super awesome! Congratz on your success so far!

Thanks! Best part is, most of what I do here I would want to do anyway.

So happy for you and your family. Yes, it's amazing what you've done but it's just the beginning! Resteeming this to inspire others!

Thank you and I agree. This is one of the waves of the future, crowd sourced economy. What a concept.

Hi @markrmorrisjr! So, I created a video tour of busy.org in my last post and because I had recently resteemed this post, I highlighted it on my video. Hope it's okay!

Nice wheels! May it carry you safely to many happy adventures. Steem on!

Thanks, got the AC charged up today, it's hot here, but not in there! HA! Can't wait to get it out on the road and see how it does.

Congratulations.bro, .Long live steemit

thanks! helps that the price is up some today as well! Gotta get that back up above $2 and keep it going up!

Congratulations. Good job.

Thanks! you know, on here, it doesn't really much like work. Same keyboard, same time, but somehow...

Congratulations, I am a long way from getting where you are, but I am right now working on increasing my level, I'm getting as much REP as I can. Your post is very good because it is real and people can see that good things can happen with Steemit.

We have to keep these things in the public eye too, it's what will draw new users.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 68156.06
ETH 3517.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81