Need a Job? Stop Complaining About What's Available and Invent Your Own Work! Chapter Two

in #life7 years ago

Inventing your own work is not a path for cowards. If you're the type to need everything lined out, nice and neat, stay in your cubicle. It's scary out here and you'll need the guts to pull the trigger on deals you're pretty sure could wreck you if it doesn't work out, but it's the only way.

A business coach friend of mine is fond of saying, "We have to be willing to risk what we have, to get what we want." You learn to leverage the skills, tools and experience you've already got to learn and build bigger and better. It's not like a job, there is no training manual, no supervisor, and no weekly assessments to help you remember to check all the boxes. You're on your own.

And that's exactly where I found myself

In a one hundred thousand square foot millwork, surrounded by 400 carpenters, designers, painters, shippers and sanders, I was totally alone.

The day after the cashwrap was complete (see part one) I felt lost. In a place that I had felt almost overwhelmed by challenge, I now felt like I had nothing left to prove. My friend John noticed it first.

“What’s up with you, Mark, you seem a little off today.”

“Yeah, kind of wondering why I’m here,” I said.

“Well, I wonder that every day,” John grinned.

But it wasn’t a, why did I get out of bed to show up here, kind of feeling it was like a release had happened. I knew I was free to move on, but to what? I started to think about that as I worked, then I made a huge mistake, I started to question my value there.

“How much do we get a for a cashwrap?” The shop manager squinted at me a little.

He was tiny guy, with a rough beard, and glasses. His name was also John.
“Why are you asking?” He asked. “You didn’t tear it up already, did you?”

I laughed, “Nope, just wanted to know how my compensation compares to the sale price.”

He snorted, “It don’t. If you start thinking like that, you’d be gone yesterday.”

Turns out, he was right. For the two days it had taken me to assemble, I’d been paid right at $200.00. Which, at the time, for me, seemed like a decent wage. It was 1996, and I had a high school education. It seemed decent, that is, until I heard what I was making for the company.

Ralph Lauren was paying just over $50k for the piece I’d assembled. I did some quick math, the material was in the neighborhood of a thousand, the cutout that came before me, might cost as much as twice what they paid me, then there was finish, probably four times, which still didn’t add up.

It was costing us somewhere around $1200, which, I decided, I’d quadruple, to $4800 just to be safe. That meant the men in the corner offices were dividing $45,200 or approximately 10x what they’d paid us to do all of the work, including sales and design.

Bullshit.

It turned out the most consistent work available for a carpenter, with the skills I’d learned was in home repair and “handyman” services. But, how much could I earn?

I asked around again and the best answer that came back from several former contractors in the shop was, start with your materials, plus about 25% for waste and overlooks (The things you forget), then double that and add it for your labor to start.

I started doing some calculations.

The more I ran my calculator, the more excited I became. It was clear that even with my limited experience, I was being way underpaid and I knew I could remedy that in a hurry. I took inventory, I knew I could sell, I’d done it all through my life. I knew I could use tools, and I had the basics, and I believed I could provide good service. All I needed was the capital, but I’d get that from each job as I went, as I’d learned to do in my brother run lawncare company. So I set out to do it.

• I designed a flyer and had one thousand half sheets printed.
• I scouted an older neighborhood, with nice homes, a perfect target market.
• I started walking and leaving flyers.

On the Mark Handyman Service

If it’s busted, loose, or rusted

If it squeaks, won’t stay shut, or refuses to open

If it’s chipped, split, worn out, or just plan needs a new one

I can repaint, repair, rebuild, or replace it.

Free up front pricing guaranteed.

Within two hours I had my first customer. It was a small job, but it allowed me to buy a couple of hand tools I didn’t bring with me from the shop, and a box of business cards to upgrade my image. Then my dad called. He had a window washing client that needed a fence, could I build a fence?

I reasoned it couldn’t be that hard, so I agreed to come and do a bid the next day, then rushed home and went to fence building school. It was the days of AOL, so I waited through the screeching while my dial up modem made the connection, then perused the existing websites, until I found some articles on fence building. Compared to cashwraps and custom doors, it looked like a breeze.

My First Real Bid

Now, if you read part one of my story, you know I was negotiating prices for various businesses from the age of about ten, so this wasn’t completely foreign territory, but this was the first time my actual livelihood depended on it. In the past, it had been movie money, or summer camp money, not, hey, the lights need to stay on at my house money and there is a huge difference. The pressure was definitely on.

I talked with the home owner extensively about his project. The fence was over 800 lineal feet, of wide board cedar, in a custom pattern, with the posts set into a concrete mow edge, not the ideal project for a beginner who had never set a fence panel in his life. Fortunately, actors have a way of making people believe they know what they’re doing, although I’m sure he had his doubts later on.

When I was done adding up the details, I priced my materials from three different sources, added everything multiple times and the price I came up with almost made me sick. It was nearly ten thousand dollars. That couldn’t be right, for a fence? So, I shopped the project with a local fence company, asking for a ballpark price by the foot and I was 20% cheaper than their best guess. I was close.

Double checking myself

Since I had never priced a project that large, I walked my dad through it and asked if he thought I was missing anything. Looked good to him, so I printed it up in a neat estimate from a site called Wave Apps that I still use, and took it to the client. He walked through it with, haggled over my down payment, and we had a deal.

Always, have experts in your network you can turn to when you need advice. I was lucky to have a dad that knew how to bid and sell. But, I've always kept relationships with others in my field to bounce ideas off of.

In the proposal, I explained that I was just coming out of a shop and needed to tool up. The client was willing to purchase the tools required for his job to help me get started, and went with me to pay for the material. I didn’t know it then, but I was cheating myself a bit by not allowing some money for the shopping and delivery, which always takes time.

The project was a success

And twenty years later, it’s still standing. I’m sure there have been repairs, but the bulk of the fence, along a local golf course, is exactly as I left it. You can bet I took pictures, used this client as a reference and didn’t bat an eye on my second project when it came to bidding. I was off and running.

Getting paid to learn

For the first several years, there was a learning curve. While I had learned a lot of technical skills in the cabinet shop, there were details about home repair that you just can’t learn until you’re doing it. No two homes are identical, even with the same builder and materials. This didn’t bother me. I’m a good researcher, so I built a library of books and stayed familiar with the DIY sites that were becoming more and more plentiful. I also bought a few cheeseburgers for old shop buddies to get advice from time to time.

The first year was tough, but fun

In the first year, I made over $25,000 from part time carpentry work while running my theater studio. In about 20 hours a week, I was able to clear more than what I’d been making in 45. I built a lot of fence, learned to build decks, installed flooring and hung doors. Only one of which I had done before starting out. I kept my handyman business running pretty consistently over the next six years. It was one of the best decisions of my life.

I’ve never looked back

The day I left the cabinet shop was the last day I’ve ever punched a clock on someone else’s job. I wasn’t necessarily setting out to be self-employed for life, but why go back? The things I liked about the work came with me and the things I hated, like being scolded like a child if I was five minutes late, took a long, unpaid lunch, or needed a day off, were a thing of the past. It wasn’t easy, but it was worth it.

Take aways

It has been my experience that there is never any such thing as a perfect time to do anything in life. To me, the perfect time is when you’re ready and willing to commit. Lack of capital, needing to refine skills and even lack of experience in running a business are all excuses that stop people from stepping out.

I took calculated risks, got paid to learn, capitalized as I went and twenty years later, I spent four months, running a crew of six on a full refurbishment of a century old home, and earned over $40,000.00 doing it.

If you want something bad enough, there’s a way, and I wanted out of a job that didn’t suit my needs. I needed more money for a growing family and I was tired of being treated like someone else’s property, but primarily, I determined I would never put myself in a position to earn more for someone else, than I was being paid, ever.

Sort:  

Very inspirational post and has made me think about my own life choices and opportunities. Maybe I would be better off self employed after all!

Well, don't do it because I say so. I'll share some failures in here too. It's not all fun and games.

No I would never do that, but your post has inspired me.

Thanks, I hope you find a great opportunity.

Your article is very interesting, you have to know how to make yourself useful to society but it is not always obvious. I think that with the robotization that happens more and more quickly the trades in the entertainment will have much future. But I am convinced that with artificial intelligence coming in and progress in robotics it will be necessary to modify the labor code in depth if we do not want 90% of the population to be useless

Well, that's a concern many have. I don't. Why? Because things have not always been as they are now. What we do currently is just a modified version of the feudal system. I welcome the day that labor for sustenance becomes a thing of the past.

This is so interesting.

Glad you think so. Stay tuned, more coming soon.

Another constructive and well written article from you, which will surely add value to readers. Thanks for sharing.

Thanks, your comment is welcome to be sure.

Great, you are welcome.

Where is a will, there is a way!

Well there's a way, the only thing you need is will.

A fantastic read.

I have real admiration for people who take things into their own hands and you certainly did just that!

I think your advice is sound for anyone looking to make something of themselves.

You've got a new follower!

Thanks, great screen name, btw. If it was mine, it would be a daily reminder. LOL

Haha, thanks!

It's something I say to myself daily. It's become a phrase that I use when I'm doing something that isnt beneficial to my goals.

As long as you're applying it to yourself too, which I figured, more power to you. We're all "fatties" in some way, doing things against our own best interest.

great share :)

glad you enjoyed it

Interesting stuff! Very nice to see it all worked out. I can see myself a lot in this article (although on a different level, in different times).
Keep it coming , Mark!

Great! Thanks for reading and steeming on is the plan!

Awesome story. The more stories like this people see, the greater the chance that a few of them will wake up and find their own path out of the grind.

Hey, thanks for the comment! They are about to destroy "the grind" as we know it. Those who are paying attention will get a headstart on what's next.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59531.52
ETH 2678.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43