Creatives Should Finish The Things They Love

in #life6 years ago (edited)

sunset-construction.jpg

A Few Observations Here

I've only been on the Steemit platform for about a week, and so far it's been a great experience. This community seems to be filled with bright, talented, and giving people. I see a lot of incredible people trying to reach their goals and live out their dreams, and that's inspiring.

Even though this is a new platform, there are old tendencies that can follow us here. I'm exploring these, and trying to define them more in my life. If you can define it, you can change it. Some of these tropes and stereotypes are the struggles that creatives find themselves battling everyday. I wanted to highlight some personal experience and observations of them in an effort to help myself and thereby, hopefully, help others as well.

Creatives Are Full Of Excuses

It's funny how many creatives find every reason not to finish the projects that they love. Writers, musicians, film makers, artists, developers, etc. Circumstances have to be "just right", everything else has to be done first, we don't feel "inspired", etc. Honestly, I think it just has to do with the fact that we're scared. When you create something that really connects with you, that you believe in, you end up putting a piece of yourself in it. Therefore, you fear rejection, because the work can easily feel like it represents ourselves.

I am far from exempt of this reality. But what I have learned is that the works we produce are not us, and don't define us. They are merely an expression, an effort to communicate and connect with others. A hope to bring unique value and experience. And not everything we make will connect with everyone, and that's ok. But if we don't put ourselves out there, even those that would connect and benefit from it would not. And that my friends, is a grave injustice and disservice to all.

Creatives Are Bad At Self-Promotion

I'm the worst at self-promotion. I mean, I really hate doing it. For other people and projects thought, I love giving them support and promotion, especially for those that I truly believe. But for my own, I let them fall by the wayside. It's weird, and I'm still figuring out why I do that... but I feel like I'm not alone in this.

Since there are a good number of us that are bad at effectively talking about our work, it may be wise to change up our approach. I think one way we can do all this is to put more effort into encouraging each other specifically and intelligently, not mindlessly. You don't have to have to give your time to everyone, just a few. But for those few, actually take the time to listen/read/watch what they are doing, and let it impact you. Then let them know how it did that.

Those who are truly influential allow themselves to be influenced by others.

Creatives Are Bad At Finishing Projects

Yep, this is me to a T. I'm incredibly awful at finishing personal projects. So one thing I want to change this year is to actually talk about and share what I do on platforms like Steemit. But not only talk about it, actually finish it.

Public, social accountability 101. 😉

Which leads me too...

About Me

So if you didn't know, I make music and sounds under the moniker Ghostroom Apollo. I put out this single last summer on iTunes, Spotify, etc, (and now uploaded to @dsound):

https://dsound.audio/#/@mariogiancini/cadet

Last year I published it, then basically did nothing about it. However, I have a full album in the works that I need to finish, (let alone years of unfinished/unpublished material). I tend to find every excuse in the book NOT to work on it.

So, I need a little help from my friends to call me out on it when able.

I'm going to launch a campaign really soon to finish my first album and publish it. So if you wouldn't mind helping me out, you can follow me in a few places:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ghostroomapollo
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/GhostroomApollo
SoundCloud: https://soundcloud.com/ghostroomapollo
Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/artist/4aTmtafstn6d7ArzLY6bGf
Email: http://eepurl.com/cQuK1n

I really, really appreciate it.

For You

If you have something you need to finish, I hope that you do it this year. I hope you find the drive within yourself to commit to doing just a little bit everyday. Comment below and let me know what you're working on. We can hold each other accountable to do great things.

  1. What's the project?
  2. Why are you doing it? (A great why is very crucial to finish it)
  3. When do you want to finish it by?
  4. What's holding you back?

steemit-follow-mariogiancini.jpg

Sort:  

You got a 1.10% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @mariogiancini!

Hey Mario, I agree with what you said, creatives are full of excuses, including me.
I also have a solo album that i´d like to finish this year.

Do it! ;-)

What kind of music @papachango?

Mainly instrumental hip-hop

Hi I've seen some of your posts, I think you make a good post and interesting so many people who like it.
I'm only new in steemit, can you see my first post

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@siedot02/my-introductory-post

Awesome! Thank you, and welcome. :-)

You got a 0.67% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @mariogiancini! Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38