Tribal Portrait (painting process)

in #life6 years ago

#65

Painting a portrait of a tribal dude, check out the step by step process below.


I start with the darkest areas or contours to establish the base and then just fill in the shading. This way it's easier to quickly get the proportions and basic shading in. Painting is more about abstracting what you see and I found this to be the best method for me to see shapes and forms and indicate them easily.

Practice-2.jpg

Face features are very easy to mess up, that's why checking proportions is a priority. I made some changes here and there, until it looks right. Indicating the shadow lines first and then on figuring out the more uniformly lit areas, is how I do it in the initial stages. Painting hair is a bit confusing, you get lost in all those lines going everywhere. Find abstract shapes to focus on and that'll get you through.
What do you guys think?

Practice.jpg

Suggestions for my future posts are very welcome ...
and thank you for your votes and resteems guys :)

Daily Art & Design


Sort:  

thanks, following

@marin, you have done a lovely job on this portrait. Upvoting and following.

Eyes have always been problematic for me. I can get one done very nicely but the other one can never match! Same thing for hands, and hands are already hard to do! Your paintings are always breathtaking. I think this one may be my favorite.

thx, yeah proportions are tricky

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62722.59
ETH 3111.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84