Happy Birthday to My Silent Dad

in #life7 years ago (edited)

bdpapa.jpg

As he entered the gate, I saw him walking towards the house from the balcony, my mom was with me hanging clothes. I told her to greet him happy birthday. That is not their thing, greeting each other. She smiled and greeted him from above, his reply: "Who's birthday? I don't think it's my birthday." and continue walking. Mom and I both smiled at each other. I called my daughter and nephew to greet their grandpa downstairs and they both so excited to know its his birthday, they were rushing and shouting "happy birthday papa" many times. I followed them and saw my father entered the house, he smiled to the kids that he seemed he can clearly see them, bowed down and asked them for a kiss.

That seemed to be the most special for him, nothing else, not any things in this world. Just seeing his grandchildren seems enough for him. I don't know the things he wants because we are not too close. He's a quiet and emotional man. He deals many kinds of pain as he is getting older but prefer to keep silent on his agony. Im happy that he finally broke his silence about his vision that got worse.

27292652_2023871437894261_356359023_n.jpg

And there he is, in his special day, laying on the bed. I don't know what he is thinking and Im grateful that he is still with us, eating one of his favorite: ICE CREAM. Though he didn't literally ate ice cream with us.

bdpp.jpg

These two were so exited. My father will just sneak and eat it by himself. That's him, the silent man.

Please support the Smart Media Token @teardrop project by Sir @surpassinggoogle and follow TearDrops on Facebook.

#steemitachievers
@maricrisbasco
27046394_2034876590130786_2047187631_o.jpg

Sort:  

The older folks have so much locked inside. So many stories!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65771.81
ETH 3174.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61