Would you join this spaceshuttle to Mars?!

in #life7 years ago

Honestly, would you?

This question becomes highly relevant in your lifetime, at least if you're not born before the 50's. When Space X announced their main goal is to produce an Interplanetary Transport System, and to reach Mars, I could not stop thinking about taking on such an adventure. It really got me thinking... would I take on the adventure?

I know it's a lot to digest, so I'll give some perspective on the matter:

  • A first cargo flight to Mars is planned for 2022;
  • A first manned flight is planned for 2024 (Only once in 2-somewhat years Mars reachable from earth).

Mars-Curiosity-Rover-Alluring-Martian-Geology-PIA19803-fi.jpg
Mars surface. Credit: Nasa

  • Rockets will be reused up to 20 times, at least. This is the only way to make spaceflight affordable (Space X has proven that it can land rockets, BIG rockets).

Falcon 9 landing.jpg
Falcon 9 rocket landing. Credit: SpaceX

  • Each shuttle will carry about 100 people. I advise you to bring a good friend, because travel time will be about 6 months (further in the future about 80 days).

space x ITS.jpg
Space X human carrier shuttle. Credit: SpaceX

  • How much does that set you back? The cost target is about the median price of a house, let's say $250.000. So then the proposition becomes: do you own a house? Okay, if you really want to, you can sell your house and go live on Mars.

Still considering?
There will be a big difference from the people who dare to fly out in 2024 compared to, lets say 2050. The first human flight will be just one shuttle, but every flight thereafter the amount of shuttles will be increased. Since Mars holds all the compounds to produce rocket fuel, also every 2-somewhat years, everybody on Mars has to make a choice. Should I stay or should I go back to earth?

By 2050 the goal is to have one thousand shuttles flying out to Mars, and there will be a lot of people working their magic on the red planet by then. I can already imagine and see a big strong community on Mars, with a society built on the blockchain and we will all follow it on #Steemit. Okay, sorry, now I'm dreaming...

Of course there is much more to it...
For example humans would have to live in concealed constructions to be able to breathe, temperatures will be fluctuating on the red planet and there will be sandstorms that keep on for days.

On the other side, growing plants in martian soil is proven to be possible, the gravity on Mars is 0.379 compared to 1.000 on earth, and thats very doable for a human being. You will float longer than you're used to, but that won't instantly hurt you.

If it was up to me I would definitely want to live on Mars for a couple of years, but to be honest, I would only go if at least a friend would join me and that the Mars society has proven itself to be possible.

If you finished this post, please let me know if you'd take the trip some day.. I'm really curious! And follow me for more of course :)


Here's a promo video of what's actually being produced by Space X. Credit: Space X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.73
ETH 2525.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47