V&A Waterfront -some sights

in #life7 years ago

IMG_2466.jpg

Last week I visited Cape Town for work. I had an engagement with the Department of Environmental Affairs and in the harbour I saw South Africa's Antartica exploration ship , the SA Agulhas II. It is a huge icebreaker ship that takes the SA exploration team to the Antartic. They say that with every return trip it needs to be fully repainted on the hull as the previous paint is all stripped off by the ice!

IMG_2477.jpg

I also had the opportunity to visit the V&A waterfront. The ship on the picture is called the Jolly Roger. It is a party ship that does sun set cruises and other charters. As you can see on the picture the weather was really bad and therfor I did not go on a cruise. I however did it during a previous visit and can really recommend it.

IMG_2470.jpg

Moored right next to the SA Agulhas was these two rust buckets. I hope they do not sail to the Antartic as I doubt if they going to make it.

IMG_2474.jpg

I saw the ferry going out to Robben island where former president Nelson Mandela was held captive.

I was also treated to some other sights such as the photos here under shows.

IMG_2478.jpg

IMG_2483.jpg

The V&A Waterfront is really worth while visiting with lots to see and do!

I took the photos myself with my iPhone

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! The SA Agulhas II is an impressive vessel with an important research mission. We have a friend who recently travelled in her to Marion Island, a story I'll be sharing shortly.

Looking forward to the story!

Thanks - will let you know when I post it!

Thanks for the interesting post

Thanks

Thank you for the fun excursion!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52