Does a degree really matter?

in #life8 years ago

image

"Of course a degree matters!" You may say, but does it really?

Going through the world today, it is pretty much possible to do everythig online, or try to make your own way of becoming successful. Of course, selling drugs is one; but um, we are speaking of some actual legal ways right? Right!

Now, I'm not talking about like a law degree, or a doctorate. I believe they are necessary to asses the skills of the future lawyer and doctors.

In today's age, you can pretty much do anything that you want. Going to college will either put you in debt, or not get the job.

Now some people may say that it is better to go to school, and get a degree, but is it really worth all the money that you're going to spend? I'm not sure. I'm in college now, and I'm not really sure if this will work out.

That is why I'm trying to make my own way to success, and have ideas that I'm working on now.

But the point of this discussion to see what other people think. I want to know what you guys think and see if I should stick with it?

So?

Sort:  

I wanted to post this on your first link, but for some reason it wouldn't let me.

I just read your post, and it's really sad. I know you feel. Especially on the part when you have the example of the two people applying for a job, but only he one with the degree will get the interview.

The other person studied probably much more than the one with the degree, but they simply won't get that interview because they don't have the degree.

It's sad to see how the system is in the world, and that's why I want to do my own thing. I'll try my best to make something happen.

@schattenjaeger

Sorry, I'm on my Mobile and this is terrible lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58430.93
ETH 2504.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39