@maninayton - Earthquake Swarm Hits Yellowstone Park

in #life7 years ago

I've just read a scary article on intellihub.com (link below in sources) which states that 60 earthquakes struck Yellowstone National Park in the USA on Friday. This increased activity may not be good news for the planet.

image
Image by Phil_Bird at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

For those who may be unaware, Yellowstone is, in fact, a large volcanic caldera measuring some 55km by 72km. If this 'super volcano' were to blow it would devastate most of the continental United States.

One of the most interesting things I learned from the article was that the US government has apparently signed an agreement with four countries to house displaced US citizens in the event of a Yellowstone eruption.


Sources For This Post


Images.

All images have been attributed

External Websites

Main article - Intellihub.com website

Yellowstone caldera information - Wikipedia website



Divider

I hope you have enjoyed this post and would consider following me (I will reciprocate).

Our young puppy

Taking advantage of a sleeping dog

A bee visiting a flower- photography

Red Lilies - photography

The historic castle at Scarborough

Is telling lies worth it?

Divider

Until next time - take care of yourselves.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit :)
I follow u, follow me back if u want lot of fun and amazing picture every day.

Hi @izbing. Followed back. :-)

Nice... Upvoted

USGS didn't repost any earthquake above 5.0 for Yellowstone but the swarm actually happened. This volcano is scary.

I look at earthquakes everyday for more than 10 years now.

https://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/map/

Thank you for the comment @teamsteem and for the link. I've added USGS to my bookmarks. :-) I can't imagine the implications if (or rather when!) this thing blows. There may be something to be said for becoming a prepper.

Smaller quakes relieve pressure from a large one happening. But, if you want to see something interesting about those quakes and others in the US, you should check out this mornings Suspicious Observers report

Hi @deanlogic and thanks for the video and also the resteem. :-D

From what is said in the video can I take it that the convergence of the winds can cause quakes?

The convergence line is a "tell" of where quakes might occur, not necessarily the cause. The coronal holes in the Sun, combined with other things is what caused the quake. I'm still trying to understand how everything works with his model.

http://quakewatch.net/

He has a mobile app and has a 70+% accuracy in predicting 6+ magnitude quakes from 24-36 hours out.

Amazing. Thanks for the link. Bookmarked that one. I'll keep an eye on it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80