Second hand treasure hunt #7

in #life7 years ago (edited)

IMG_6012.JPG

Early off from work on this nice friday... time to drive by a few second hand stores. One that I don't visit too often was by chance within shorter range, so I gave it a shot. They did not have much in my preferred areas of music and films, but they had a huge book selection, that was sorted into themes and looked of some quality. I will usually be looking for philosophy, history, art, music, collectibles, cooking and odd stuff as usual.

IMG_6019.JPG

IMG_6020.JPG

IMG_6021.JPG

IMG_6023.JPG

I did manage to locate a few vinyls. First a pretty copy of Barenboim/Klemperer playing Mozart on Electrola (German EMI)... i love the awesome white, red & gold label, which should also be proof of superior sound. Can't wait to get that spinnin'... Barenboim is not my alltime favorite pianist, but he is still good, and the Klemperer combo is legendary.
Then a german obscurity called "Unkraut Leben" was irresistable. I have a soft spot for oddities. Guess I am really tired of mainstream :-). This is supposedly some 70's religious folk rock. Never heard it before but it sells fairly well on discogs, so a long shot :-) https://www.discogs.com/Das-Gesangsorchester-Peter-Janssens-Unkraut-Leben/release/3328815

IMG_6013.JPG

The Cigar Companion III: A Connoisseur's Guide. Oh man. A cigar book. I used to smoke some ten years ago, but never cigars. But i have a plan that I may check out some quality ones in the future, just for the fun of it and off course very good quality. Then this book may come in handy. Very systematic and concise presentation of he best this market has to offer.

IMG_6014.JPG

Ok this is slightly geeky, but 50 p for a big book with tables of the contents of various foods, like vitamins and proteins and so on... extremely detailed. I just love information :-)

IMG_6024.JPG

IMG_6016.JPG

"Spise Med Price" is a sort of a legemdary cookbook in Denmark. John Price was a theater and movies person and sort of a celebrity. In recent years he has been revived via his two sons who have made new books in the "Spise Med Price" series and also tv series of cooking programs. Some good, traditional cooking, with some nice anecdotes and some personal tweaks of his here and there.

IMG_6017.JPG

IMG_6016.JPG

A few more cook books, one purely on sauces... which I was missing in my collection. Love to have a book specifically on this subject, a very underrated aspect of cooking. Then a diet cookbook by Montignac. Its philosophy is based on choosing the right balances of carbs vs. proteins and fat. All based on mediterranean cooking. Dishes looks reaallly good :-)

IMG_6025.JPG

IMG_6015.JPG

Ok the best treasure for last. I am very interested in art-photography, like street photography. This is an essay by Ken Warpole with photographs by Jason Orton... "350 Miles - An Essex Journey". This book was just 50 p and further more... it is signed by the author :-)... the book sells for around 50 pounds on Amazon.uk, so nice find... an very good photographs.

Sort:  

Great second hand collection especially vinyls.

I've been there few times but didn't buy anything, maybe i should think about it heh :d

Amazing second hand stuffs. Those books looks great. I think I sould also go to second hand store for amazing collection :D

you have very good taste to build great posts :)

It's amazing to see all the great stuff that you can get from a second hand store.
The vinyls look like they are in great condition but my favourite here is probably the cigar book haha.
I haven't smoked on of those in years.

excellent what you find there

I like books with philosophy, history and art too. I like good music but i still have to learn how to cook some specialities.

Second hand is the best way to get vinyl!

I agree. Actually most new vinyl releases have a less superior sound than the 70-80s pressings

Great collections. Sometimes, it is worth buying a second hand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49