What Does Leadership Mean to You?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I had this conversation with a buddy of mine this morning. He asked me if I could be available to stay at his place for a delivery of his new washer/dryer. I'm waiting for the guys that are delivering them to show up now.

Anyway....he is one of my buddies that has his act together and is quite successful. I would say he is an alpha male and will take charge of situations to get the job done. I would describe myself as the opposite. I will lead when I see there is a lack and in something I have proficiency in. I don't believe I am a natural alpha male leader and its something I've had to really work at in my life.

We have 2 different leadership styles. In performing a few projects with him, I notice he definitely will tell you how bad you messed something up. Maybe that's just because we are buddies and he likes to bust my balls. I just take it as constructive criticism because I do make errors many times and will admit it. However.... I can see if he treated his co-workers/employees that way, it may be a tough environment for them, so I called him out on it.

I read Dale Carnegies book a while ago "How to Win Friends and Influence People" and took away a few things he talks about in the book when it comes to being a leader. I'll highlight a few of my big takeaways that I try to carry with me when leading a project with other people.

How-to-win-friends-and-influence-people.jpg
Sauce
Be an encourager, always praise people for what they are doing well instead of criticizing them in front of others for mistakes they've made. Because of our human ego people will have a hard time wanting to work for a person that is constantly pointing out their mistakes and never giving any praise. Many times people will not wish to help your cause and will just perform at the bare minimum to keep from being fired.

The best leaders I have ever worked with will offer their suggestions and check in with you to listen to your struggles, and gains. They will offer guidance, support when you need some help, and will praise you for a job well done. As an employee on the other side of the coin its good to offer a few solutions to your Manager/Leader and not just talk about the problem you are struggling with. A good leader will take your feedback and help you make the best decision.

Listening and understanding are the keys if you believe someone may be underperforming at their job. You have to communicate about mistakes and the burden of those mistakes will ultimately fall on the leader. I believe the errors must be addressed, but listening and offering your team more resources/solutions through 1 on 1 conversations may be the most effective way to address the problems than open criticism.

What does good leadership look like for you?

cropped-LogoV1-2.png Peace and Joy @makinstuff

Leave me a comment and let me know! Upvotes, Follow, and Re-steems are super appreciated :)

Sort:  

So true makinstuff, I once worked for a man that told me you need to understand the person that is working for you. Some people can snap back an answer, but some will walk away formalize there response and come back with a response. We are all so different, Alpha’s cannot interact with everone aggressively...

Resteemed makinstuff!

For sure, everyone is a bit different. One of my bosses gave me a great piece of wisdom from my previous job. Seek to understand, not to be understood.

Sounds wise!

howdy sir makinstuff! I can relate, I'm not a natural leader either when there is one around to take charge. If there is one around I fade back which is what I'm comfortable with but those principles in that book certainly work anywhere, even on steemit!
sorry I'm charging my vote, it was 40% this morning.

Cool hearing that you share a similar type leadership mentality @janton thank you for your time giving me a read! Appreciate you sir!

hey makinstuff yes sir that was a fine post, and here people thought you just a working stiff! lol. great job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62837.64
ETH 2542.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65