Sort:  

Looks good. I'm working on saving our next round of money to get crackin' on our plumbing. Will be picking your brain again for sure!

You bet good sir, I'd say go propane tankless for hot water at y'alls place right off the bat. The electric tankless heaters do use some substantial power when they kick on.

Hey. That's a lot smaller than the old one! Looks good!

Did you have to run 240 to it or was it already wired up?

It was already wired for 240 for the old water heater. I bought the 6kw version so I didn't have to upgrade my circuit breaker. It runs on a 240V double throw 30amp breaker. It's putting out some decent heat but takes a second to kick in. I thought about your comment @nateonsteemit when I was putting it together kept saying "use way more glue than you think" lol.

That's the key to plumbing success. When in doubt, more glue!

The master carpenter I worked with for ten years always told me "nothing will treat you better in life than your momma and more glue."

Lol that's awesome

Yeah, a tankless water heater always has a bit of a delay when you turn on the faucet. It has to heat up the water that's coming into it, and that takes a little time to get going.

It's a tankless job, but something's gotta do it... :-)

lol, I love that @amberyooper, thank you for the smile :)

ha! look at that thing, THATS a water heater? talk about small, that's totally amazing. How long do they say they last?

I know! I was kinda skeptical, but it does a pretty good job for my little place. They are supposed to last up to 20yrs with regular maintenance which involves a yearly flush to help remove any scaling in the pipe.

howdy back sir makinstuff! oh well 20years is a good long time but what are the costs of those things?

This guy was $171.00 with free shipping on ebay.

sir makinstuff! is that why you went with this one, because of the price or did you want to experiment? I mean that is such a steal compared to the full size tanks! Plus you don't have to haul that big one around, I think we need to check the tankless model out. does it put out hot water like the tank models?

In actuality, I bought this one from a suggestion from my Dads buddy whose an electrician. He recommended tankless because he installed one at his lake place and helped me work on my main panel when I had to do some re-wiring. He said in order to not change out my wiring he recommended I could go up to a 7400Watt tankless heater. I looked around for a heater with the highest power rating that would run on my 240V 30amp breaker. The highest power I could find was this 6kW 240V 30amp rated heater. It does ok when you only operate one faucet with hot water at a time. So if someone is taking a hot shower you wouldn't want to run the hot water in the kitchen sink because they would run out of hot water. This model is not adjustable so when the faucet is turned on and the heater senses the flow it kicks the band heaters on full power to heat the water. I'd say it would be a great solution for anyone with a small house.

oh ok sir makinstuff but you can just buy bigger ones if you get tired of this one?

You bet, I may go bigger when I can save up a bit to put in a new breaker.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62873.38
ETH 3037.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63