Have you ever been mugged?

in #life6 years ago

TODAY I LEARNED

No matter how long you’ve been traveling or how careful you think you’re being, you can never be TOO careful!

NEVER take out money or valuables on public transportation or a crowded area, especially in a big city. I thought I was being careful when my purse was cut open & wallet stolen on a bus in Quito, Ecuador.

My backpack was locked with most of my valuables inside, including extra cards and cash, thankfully I was wearing it in the front. My phone was in the front pocket with both hands over it to keep it safe. My purse was zipped shut and wedged between my backpack & body, so I thought it was safe, but it was cut open on the side and my wallet (and prescription sunglasses) were stolen!
Why was I a target? I had taken out my wallet to give a deaf beggar a coin. I know sign language and spent a minute communicating with him and wanted to give something. So I likely showed the thief what I had and where to find it.

I also learned the importance of having extra cash & cards in a separate place and having a local SIM card with data & the Google Hangouts app, otherwise I would not have been able to call my banks so quickly and easily.

Quito is a wonderful city & traveling is awesome, don’t let this scare you from either. Just be careful out there!
Have you ever been mugged ?

image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56166.62
ETH 2397.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37