Graduate College: Check. Now What?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

It has been exactly 5 months and eighteen days that i got my diploma, and oh boy am I lost. 

See, here's the picture for you dear reader, I'm not the magna cum laude type who got it all figured out with the killer internships, the amazing first job and the detailed list of professional goals, and here's why:

I worked my butt off throughout my life to get myself into one of those reputable colleges, thinking naively that it'd be my golden ticket to an accomplished life (boy was I wrong). So, after I achieved that mission and secured myself a seat at my then dream college, it was finally my time to let loose, to get out of my shell, and that is exactly what I did. 

In a nutshell, college was quite the experience lab for me; I made great friendships, attended music festivals, joined a martial arts club, and maintained quite the social life for the introverted person that I am. All of that happened while studying sat on the bench, and that's how my grades went down the drains and I found myself on the verge of failure more often that I'd like to admit. Rookie mistake, I know. 

After the paralyzing academic struggle, I tried to reprioritize, find a balance. I didn't go full Legally Blonde there, but let's just say that I got my act together after a whole lot of trial and error. The five years flew by and I finally beat the beast that was the sickening stress over essay deadlines, group projects and of course the infamous finals week of HELL.  

The relief and joy of graduating overshadowed just how big and scary of a monster was waiting around the corner, but it didn't take long for the graduation extravaganza to die down. The congratulations soon turned into questions about my next move, one I was absolutely oblivious to, and that's when the "what should i do with my life now?" Monster creeped in. 

Now to wrap this post up dear reader, life is quite the roller-coaster, so even though this might be a time of uncertainty, fear, and occasional self-doubt, this ride is bound to go up. My story doesn't end here, as I'm about to make my way into the "real world", I hope you tag along.  

Sort:  

The struggle is real ... hang in there sis!

one heck of a ride that is, but you said it , it is bound to go up. how is my punctuation though sensei

Haha, great progress my friend.

Congratulations @mahaow! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28