How I Made My First Video Game

in #life8 years ago (edited)


You can download and play Halloween Hunt here for free. No tricks, literally just my game. :)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/958op9n4tct2rgq/Halloween%20Hunt_final.html?dl=0

As a lifelong gamer the idea of making video games seemed far and away. A huge undertaking done by people much smarter and more capable than myself. It wasn't until I came across a simple engine called Twine that I began to think it was possible. After a few months of planning and writing I taught myself this simple engine and launched my first game, Halloween Hunt, right before Oct. 31st.

The game is not perfect. But then again, neither am I.

Despite it's simplicity I felt proud of what I accomplished, it was a great starting point. I was so proud I even went to a video game convention and offered it free to play to anyone who likes spooky stories. Despite having a great time I felt a deep sense of imposter syndrome. I felt as if I was faking in a room full of real game developers.

I joked about this sentiment to a developer from Seattle who had brought a truly amazing demo of his game, Clobbr. He turned to me with complete earnestness and said, "No. You made a game. You are a game developer."

This completely changed my viewpoint and I've held onto those words ever since. We all have to start somewhere and there's no shame in that. So feel free to enjoy my shitty game.

Sort:  

Are you going to stay a developer and keep developing? :)

I'm currently working on developing a mobile app which I'm hoping to have a prototype by the end of the month. But I've also done several game jams, competitions, and some voice acting. :)

It is great you took the decision of making it. I have been planing a game for months but I never get the time to start. Hope you continue doing what you like. When I get a chance I am gonna play your game. Keep up the good work! And thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62302.26
ETH 2994.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96