Lava

in #life7 years ago

enter image description here
Image Credit

I love learning how things work and what makes things the way they are, so I thought it would be great to learn about what Lava is.

Lava is basically liquid rock that has come to the earths surface and starts to cool. The reason why it is able to flow is because of the high temperature it is at, between about 700°C and 1200°C, and the types of chemicals in it. Certain chemicals in the lava will either make it more runny like water or more thick like honey. The Lava can flow very far before it cools down and becomes rock and I really love pictures of lava flowing because it looks like a river of fire.

enter image description here
Image Credit

Sort:  

Hypnotizing to look at. Even though it's just a still picture.

Hey @madiba.. The pictures look absolutely stunning 😱😇😊.. Here are few more facts that might interest people who would like to know a little more about LAVA.

Lava is also called magma, that is before it touches the surface of earth.
Magma is made up of a lot of elements but the major elements that formulate the composition of magma are glass, silica, rocks, crystals, oxygen, aluminum, iron, manganese, titanium, sodium, potassium etc..

Also, varieties of Lava can be majorly bucket edges into 3 i.e. Rhyolitic, Basaltic & Andesitic.

P.S. Anyone who liked help me on this platform, I would request them to do pay a visit to my account @vinyprop and follow me if you feel it's worth it 😊☺️
Thanks


Hexxusssss!!!
haha lava is awesome! :) Interesting about the chemicals that make the lava thick or runny, I'll have to have a further look into that, didn't know that...

I always found volcanos interesting. As a child we were always making volcano models for science projects.

Just glad I don't live near one and forced to escape if it got out of control.

Nature is beautiful but can be very dangerous. Enjoy the first while avoiding the second is the balance....

I also found volcanoes interesting and it would be really nice to see a volcano erupt, but like you said, it would be very dangerous.

wow amazing never knew that lava had high temperatures,
great thing to learn.

for real?

Hello Friend Nice Post by You

Please see my post under the title
"Please Check the POST"
& Respond...

Thank you very much

Nice picture!
I went to the Etna volcano to see the lava, but unfortunately I did not get up to the summit to see it.

That is unfortunate. I hope you will be able to go see it one day.

If were going to apply its resemblance to life, the more hot or alive a person is, the more it will continue to flow. The moment it stops flowing, it implicates that it ended its warm.

That is a good way of looking at it, thank you for that.

nice shot, amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62613.64
ETH 2438.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67